Slithering Anxiety - Day 124:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

It's late on a Tuesday, the night is snaking up on me. I need to be in bed because I have to get up early tomorrow. I work one more day and then I have to rush home and pack my bag for my trip early Thursday morning.

Jeff just stopped over tonight and brought me my suitcase which he picked up for me when we went shopping at the mall.

This is our first trip away from home together. Like every other trip away from home, travel anxiety has snuck up on me again like a snake. No matter how well I try to prepare, I always get this anxiety.

I start worrying about not being able to remember everything. I fear that I'm not going to have the correct clothes or I'm going to leave something important behind.

The reality of it is, nothing is truly that important and I can survive by leaving anything behind. The most important thing is, we are going away.

I cannot wait to see my Dad in Arizona. I also cannot wait to see the sights at the Grand Canyon and then again on the 24th through the 26th, Las Vegas!

What is it about traveling that causes so much anxiety for me? I tried to figure it out and I just come up empty. Jeff shared with me tonight that he also feels anxiety. He travels all the time and he is a pro at packing bags and driving long distances, but he said he also is afraid that he's going to leave something behind. We talked about it, and we think that it's because we are leaving our comfort zone. No matter how exciting it is to pack our bags and leave home, there's always something about leaving our comfort zone that leaves a little bit of anxiety.

I don't think it's going to be as bad this time, I have Jeff. He is very good at leveling me off and making me feel that everything is going to be alright.

I'm going to miss my Steemit friends. I don't think I'm going to have that much time to pop in here, and actually, going out into the real world and seeing new sights will be important for filling my brain up with new information to share with you all.

So this may be my last freewite for a while. I plan on returning home on February 27th. Until then much love to you all. And let me allow this snake of anxiety slither away.

fantasy-2464881_1920.jpg
Image


This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest.
I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers. Here is today's prompt:
Snake

Discord
Freewriters now have a room in the Isle of Write Discord! I hope you'll come experience the fun and supportive community there!
Here is the link to join: Freewriters

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

wandrnrose7_blue-1.png

Sort:  

Hope the trip goes well

Thank you so much for the well wishes... It has been a whirlwind week and tonight is my last night. I am set to get on the plane at noon tomorrow. It will be a long day! But I have seen a lot!

Somehow, I missed this post - is past the payout now :( An you are probably home now :)

Change, just like shedding old skin, can be both daunting and renewing. I hope you bask in the renewal of it all, @wandrnrose.

Thank you, my friend.

Really interesting take on snake...also we will miss you while you are gone for a bit! Looking forward to your freewrites when you get back of course :). Also the image choice gave me chills!

This is my last night of vacation, it has flown by like it always does! I hope that it's been a good week for you and I hope to be popping back in here on Thursday. Tomorrow is going to be a long day flying and driving. Thank you for your kind words!

I like how everything with travel takes snake formation. :)

Thank you very much for stopping by and reading! I hope you're having a great week, I will be back probably the day after tomorrow because tomorrow is going to be spent flying back home.

@wandrnrose7🌹

How exciting!! I just popped onto Steemit and you are one of my favorite places to visit when I come on. First, I just want to wish you the most amazing time with your father. Second, the only thing a trip needs is a sunny disposition, a good outlook and well a camera. haha 😄 I am looking forward to seeing some of your Grand Canyon imagery. 🏜️ I have never been myself. You are not alone when it comes to "Anxiety." I can become quite anxious and what has helped me is Mindfulness Meditation. Just ask yourself, "Where are my feet?" 👣 It is a technique that reminds you that you are here and the time is now. Getting present and not worrying about the little things in the past or stressing about the future. That everything is fine in this moment. ☮️

Wishing you a magical happy and memorable experience. 🌈

Blessings, Marie
🎀 @theprettysoul🎀

Thank you so much for stopping by and that beautiful comment... I will keep in mind the things that you say, and the anxiety did calm down once we were in the air. I forgot a few minor things, but nothing that couldn't be picked up at the store. I cannot wait to share the photographs from the Grand Canyon and from Vegas! We tried to squeeze a lot into a couple of days. I fly back tomorrow and won't be home until the evening so I probably will be popping on to steemit to write something on Thursday, I hope! Thank you for the sweet compliment. ❤ I also appreciate your method with the "Where are my feet!" and I will use this.

Awww, I will miss reading your amazing works but look forward to your return! Have a happy and safe trip and ENJOY yourself, that means no worries. And if you leave something, you can most likely find a place that sells it!

It has been quite the week so far! Tonight is the last night and I unless or girl lol when you are in Vegas you walk a lot! Thank you for the sweet comment! Oh, and I did forget a couple of things but it wasn't the end of the world and I did pick them up at a local Walgreens! LOL

See! I knew you would survive! Im so glad you are enjoying yourself! Have fun darling! I cant wait to read more from you! You are so talented!

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

You will be missed certainly!

And what a creative way to tell of your parting from us!

Meanwhile, if you should manage some five minutes, don't be snaked to hesitate to write on today's prompt. I am making sure to leave the link here for you

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-125-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cinnamon

At any rate..Cheers, and see you sooner!

Thank you, my friend.

Cheers, and safe stay

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Thanks so much!

Well written. Getting out of that comfort zone that we call our daily life, getting up and over those ruts we're in...not easy. But I'm sure you'll have a good time :) Can't wait to see the post posts.

Be well until we see you again :)

Thank you, @mikesthoughts! This is the random babbling of a worry wart lol. Hugs!

Hehe, it's the gentle release of mental tension through the judicious use of words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82