You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Fly Season

in #freewrite5 years ago

I heard that those black flies have vicious bites. Yes, everything is being poisoned. We are usually swarming with bees and butterflies at this time of year and we are lucky if we see just a couple of each. What a damn shame!

Sort:  

Yes those black flies can give a good bite. Rubbing vinegar on the bites will stop the itch.
I know what you mean by the shortage of bees and butterflies. They are being killed off with the spraying. The nicotine used in the pesticide spray for corn is deadly to the bees. I’ms sure all the spraying done on the potato crop isn’t helping either. There is even something used to kill the tops of the potato plant before harvesting. As humans, bees are linked to our survival on this planet. If they are killed off then the human race will be close behind. Sorry,I’m starting to rant...

I know how important the bees are to us. Don't even get me started!!!
I saw about 2 dozen lightning bugs tonight for the first time this year and I am hoping that is a good sign.

I think that is a good sign as I only even see two or three anymore whereas years ago there were dozens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99