Day-237-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dew

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180613_154834.jpg

This is my 5 minute #freewrite for the daily prompt: dew

If you've never created a #freewrite, please visit this post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-237-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dew

When I first started working with the United States Postal Service in 1982, my work hours were overnight, 22:30 to 07:00 in the morning.

Many a night, it was very hard to stay awake, especially when we were sitting at a console, typing in zip codes.

Back in the day, we didn't have all the Energy drinks we have today loaded with caffeine, but we did have Mountain Dew.

As you can see by my selfie, they don't spell out Mountain anymore, cuz that's not cool. But they still load this soda with a butt load of caffeine, check out the label.

IMG_20180613_163358.jpg

We used to drink the Dew on every break, so we could make it through the night, then be ready to hit the bar at 07:00am, to throw some darts.

We would drink till noon, go home to sleep, wake up for dinner, take a shower, then do it all over again, six days a week.

I worked that tour for eighteen and a half years, until I switched over to customer service. Those were the days.

Story and selfie by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgThanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

That's one tough schedule! Interesting history.

Young and dumb. 😜

Do you still work for USPS? I am supposed to start July 7th, and they are making it sound scary! I was like, are you sure you want me to take the job?! Sheesh!

No I retired in 2013, what position have you been awarded?

I have been hired on as a CCA position. It is a temporary mail carrier position. I am hoping that I can start applying for other positions once I am in there as a CCA. I don't have a desire to work in that part of the post office, just trying to use it to get a leg up for interviews with other parts of USPS. I want to work in HR.

Just try not to call in, they hate that. At least you'll be working days. Working at district is a whole different world than working out of a substation. Try to schedule doctor appointments on your day off if possible. Never call in after you've been turned down for time off. You'll do fine.

Enjoyed the snapshot of your life and glad you never went postal ;)

You're safe, we only shoot our own! 😜

:) It's the guy sitting next to you that ends up driving you NUTS! Did you talk about it with one another? Make pacts saying you'd never do it?

Congratulations @wonderwop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

eighteen and a half years, am suppose to be calling you grandpa.
Good evening sir, am also prostrating here to greet.
Here with today's prompt for you to deal with sir.

.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-238-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-miami

No grandpa here, or pa, thanks for helping Marianne

Whew ... we have espressos where I work but the idea is the same, just our shots are smaller and more concentrate! However I'm trying to stop with this, no good in the long run. Your selfies are always the best Bruni!

Thanks, I never did selfie's before entering @mariannewest's selfie contest. I think my arms are too short. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97