You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 26 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> Surviving Depression

Very insightful words, indeed.
I've done some work with folks in this area (as well as my own!).

I still find it amazing how easy it is to let our mind and thoughts get stuck in the dark place. Isn't it interesting how we typically only spend a few moments laughing at something funny, yet can get stuck for hours or days or even weeks on some depressing or sad thought? Why is that?

One of the best things I have learned is to not give the dark thoughts that much power and fear that we keep running from them, giving them more power. But learn to face them, feel them, acknowledge them, then send them on their way like a bad joke.

Some of the best simple words of wisdom I received in a very dark time of crisis came from a friend in group who stated (in his heavy Arkansas accent) "Kxxxxxxx, You've got to quit waller'n in it." (Refering to a pig in a mudpit). Those words still ring in my ears every time I'm feeling down.

Another great reference book I love is from local Colorado Author Tom Stella out just this year. "CPR for the Soul". The chapter on "Dark Gifts" really resonates for me.

Sort:  

thank you so much for taking the time
out to share such great info and books. those are always very helpful.
i truly appewciate your kind words and approach. blessings

And thank you for the spirit that you are putting into your posts and threads. It is tangible, even for a novice like me.

"...what you do comes back to thee,
not just once, but three times three". (W creed)
K

awww that is pure loveliness and thank you so much! :)

you are so very kind and i appreciate your support. you aren't a novice cu it out. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91