PERSIAN RECIPE – Khoresh Bamieh (Okra Stew) خورش بامیه | Plant-Based/Vegan | #fruitsandveggiesmonday

Baamiya-Plate.jpg

Happy New Year Everyone! To celebrate the first day of 2018, I have cooked one of my favourite Persian dishes, 'Khoresh Bamieh'. Bamieh is the Persian word for okra and to be honest, I had never even heard of this vegetable until I was fortunate enough to have a beautiful Persian family cook it for me here in Australia. Okra improves digestion, vision, skin, and immunity and lowers blood pressure. It can also be eaten raw. This recipe is so easy and so delicious; I'm sure you will love it too!

I'm entering this post into the #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest, thanks to the creator @lenasveganliving, who has some amazing plant-based recipies!

Baamiya-Start.jpg


RECIPE ~ KHORESH BAMIEH

Serves 4 | Prep 10 min | Cook 40 min


Ingredients:

Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  • 500g Okra
  • 500g Button Mushrooms
  • 7 Tomatoes
  • 2 Brown Onions
  • 1-2 Tsp Turmeric
  • 2-3 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 3 Dried Limes (or 1 Tsp Dried Lime Powder)
  • 2 Tsp Salt (Pink Himalayan or Sea Salt)
  • 2-3 Cups Water
  • 2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil (or frying oil of choice; i.e. Coconut Oil)

Method:

Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  1. Wash the vegetables.
  2. Chop the tomatoes and onions.
  3. Fry the onions.
  4. Once the onions are transparent, add in the mushrooms and fry for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add the turmeric and tomato paste, with a little water and stir.
  6. Add the tomatoes, okra, and salt; mix through and fry for about 1 minute.
  7. Add the water and dried limes and bring to a boil.
  8. Reduce to a medium heat and keep it on a rolling boil for about 20-30 minutes, or until the water has reduced to about one quarter. Try not to stir, as it would break the okra.
  9. While it is cooking, prepare your basmati rice.

Enjoy!

Baamiya-Plate.jpg


Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.

I'm @ashleighchanel. I'm incredibly passionate about public health. If you liked this post, upvote and follow me for more! Best wishes!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ashleighchanel to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Oh my goodness, I love Persian cuisine and this is absolutely delicious. Honestly, I have not make orcas yet, but this recipe truly speaks to me, so it's time to make it. Thank you so much for joining us my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

Thanks Lena! It's so good to hear you like the recipe. I will be posting more Persian dishes and I'm looking forward to working on my next #fruitsandveggiesmonday post.

By the way, I really like your recipe for the Grilled BBQ Tempeh Skewers. It's on my to-do list! https://steemit.com/vegan/@lenasveganliving/mini-kebabs

Looks like a delicious entry to celebrate #fruitsandveggiesmonday! Glad you joined in. I look forward to checking out more of your posts!

Hi @plantstoplanks, thanks so much! Likewise - I am looking forward to reading your posts too as I'm interested in plant-based nutrition and fitness too. I've just followed you. Have a happy new year!

Oh my goodness, thank you so much for sharing! I can't wait to make it! I always see okra in the grocery stores here in Mexico, but I never knew how it can be prepared. Finally I can buy some and taste it :)

Hi @plantbasedmiri, that's awesome! You're welcome :) I know what you mean about okra - it's such a foreign vegetable for us who have never eaten or cooked it before. They taste great raw too; as a side dish with a little bit of salt sprinkled on top. I've just followed you - your Steemit page is so bright and colourful! Happy 2018!

This looks so delicious!!! I want to eat it right now!! My husband doesn't like okra so I hardly ever have it.

Hi @mariannewest Thanks so much!! :)

CONGRATULATIONS! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

Thanks so much @lenasveganliving! I love the illustrations for your contest!

You are most welcome Dear @ashleighchanel and I love them too. They are @barbara-orenya creations 🌸💖🌸

PS: As a 1st PRIZE WINNER, you are automatically elected as HONORABLE GUEST JUDGE next week my dear. Please contact me via my blog https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living/contact so I can send you instructions on how to proceed.

Thank you so much 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

This sounds yummilicious Miss Ashleigh ! =)) congratulations on your 1st prize !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56