RECIPE: Italian Quinoa Kale Bruschetta Salad | Plant-based/Vegan | #fruitsandveggiesmonday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

img1.jpg

Let's talk about kale. It's one of those "dark leafy greens" that comes up in nearly every list you search for about what's good for you: your skin, how to avoid the flu, how to lower cholesterol; you name it, it's good for it! It is low in calories and high in nutrients and antioxidants. I highly recommend you check out this source to read more details about the health benefits of kale.

Besides tearing it into small pieces and freezing it to add to banana smoothies, I was wondering what to do with the fresh kale I had, so I thought I'd make a yummy Italian Bruschetta. But then it just didn't seem like enough of a meal, so I added quinoa and mushroom and behold! it became an Italian Quinoa Kale Bruschetta Salad! I hope you guys make this; it is so tasty! It is so healthy! It is so easy to make and easier to eat!

This post is an entry into the #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest, created and administered every week by the lovely @lenasveganliving. I highly recommend that you check out all the other delicious plant-based recipes that she and many other people post here in Steemit! It is time well-invested.


Recipe

Ingredients (all estimated):

Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  • 2-3 handfuls of kale leaves (or more!)
  • 3-4 fresh tomatoes
  • 1 cup of spring onions (or red onion)
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 2-3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp dried mixed italian herbs (fresh basil leaves would be a great alternative)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (or fresh garlic, crushed)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (pink himalayan or sea salt)
  • 1/2 tsp cracked pepper
  • Drizzle of Olive oil (optional)
  • 1 tbsp Coconut oil (optional)

Method:

Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.
  1. Cook the quinoa as per the packet instructions.
  2. While that's cooking, wash and chop the vegetables.
  3. Chop the kale in a food procesor or blender by pulsing two or three times.
  4. Heat some coconut oil in a pan and fry the mushrooms for a few minutes.
  5. Season the mushroom with salt and pepper, then let cool.
  6. Add the kale, tomatoes and onions into the salad bowl.
  7. Mix in the balsamic vinegar, garlic powder, herbs and salt.
  8. Add the quinoa and mushrooms then mix through.
  9. Drizzle with a little olive oil (optional).

Serving Suggestion:

Put the salad in the fridge to cool for about 10 minutes. I made some crunchy garlic bread to eat this on top of, like how you would eat bruschetta. Yum!

Enjoy!

img4.jpg

All images in this post are my own.

Ashleigh Chanel Head Shot.

I'm @ashleighchanel. I'm incredibly passionate about public health. If you liked this post, upvote and follow me for more! Best wishes!

Sort:  

Now I can't wait until tomato season here! It's a while away, but I can imagine picking some fresh from the garden and making this beautiful bowl of goodness. I used purple kale in my tofu scramble this week. You can never go wrong throwing in dark leafy greens into just about anything! :)

Oh I am sure this dish would be even more delicious with freshly picked tomatoes and basil leaves from the garden! Yum! Your tofu scramble with purple kale sounds good; please share your link here so we can all check it out. :)

I submitted this one for the #healthybreakfast challenge. The link for the contest is in my post in case you or anyone else wants to join, too! https://steemit.com/healthybreakfast/@plantstoplanks/healthy-breakfast-challenge-southwestern-tofu-and-black-bean-scramble

It looks fantastic, your recipe is very good, I will try to tell my wife to cook quinoa hahaha

Thanks! I'm just starting to cook with quinoa, and it is actually easy and fairly quick to steam through.

Ooh this sounds yummilicious ! and if we can say it is italian, then it sounds even more scrumptious to Luigi ;-)

I am sure Luigi would love this Italian salad! ;)

Yummy! This looks absolutely delicious, and so healthy! 🌱💚

Thanks! It was really good and the bowl was empty far too soon!

That is absolutely beautiful and packed full of goodness. Great recipe. Love it!

Thanks so much! I'm looking forward to making it again already.

What was that? You're inviting all of us over for lunch? So nice, thank you! 😀

It looks so delicious!!

It looks fantastic and delicious!!

Thank you, it was! The quinoa soaked up the balsamic vinegar and the flavours all combined really nicely.

That has just made me so hungry just what i love i wish i had hang around my Italian mum more often in the kitchen to learn more on how to make these wonderful healthy tasty dishes. This dish not only has made me so hungry but also miss my mom's Italian cooking she use to make one very similar to your one and still does i will have to go home more often now after seeing this :)

I'm glad you like the recipe! I hope you can visit your mum soon and enjoy her delicious Italian cooking!

Thank you i will have to now after seeing that :)

Looks amazing! Thanks for the recipe.

Thanks! You're welcome! I hope you enjoy it!

So much fun to see Another vegan here :) I'm just keep on stumbling on to them. The recipe looks delicious :) Looking forward to see more from you :)

It is fun stumbling into fellow vegans here in Steemit, I agree! :) Thank you, I'll be sure to check out your blog too - I have followed you. :)

Thank you :) I have a Facebook group for vegans on Steemit if you want to join :) We share our posts and help eachother out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50