Sunshiny Golden MilksteemCreated with Sketch.

Golden milk cover.jpg

Mondays are becoming one of my favourite days here on Steemit since I joined the FAVM challenges, now flying under the banner of @vegansofsteemit.

It's also the closing day of a weekly famous Steemit Sandwich Contest run by a real nice Steemian @jaybird, (now into week 83 believe it or not), so check that out and join in the fun there as well and show us some vegan sandwiches :)

Thank you to the creator of the #fruitsandveggiesmonday @lenasveganliving, to our weekly host the lovely @plantstoplanks, to @donkeypong for the generous sponsorship and of course that wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya for the gorgeous wonkies! You are all such an inspiration with your kind feedback and of course the gorgeous food posts we see coming from your kitchens every so often!

Check out this week's POST, please follow the rules 100% and show us your fruits and veggies this Monday!

FAVM divider.png

I will share something different with all my new FAVM friends today, and that is Golden Milk with its amazing health benefits. One thing I can attest to, is its powerful anti-inflammatory action.

Golden milk originated in India where it is used for its health benefits, particularly recommended to boost the immune system – a warm spicy Turmeric drink traditionally made with cow’s milk or plant based milk.

IMG_20190310_094512.jpg

I used unsweetened Almond Milk, added a good quality Organic Turmeric, fresh Ginger Root, crushed black Peppercorns, Vanilla pod, Cassia bark and Coconut Oil, and sweetened it with Maple Syrup.

IMG_20190310_093317.jpg

I will briefly list 10 science-based benefits of golden milk as per Healthline.com.

Please have a look at that link if you are interested in learning more.

  1. Key Ingredients Are Loaded With Antioxidants

  2. May Help Reduce Inflammation and Joint Pain

  3. May Improve Memory and Brain Function

  4. Curcumin in Turmeric May Improve Mood

  5. May Protect Against Heart Disease

  6. May Lower Blood Sugar Levels

  7. May Reduce Your Risk of Cancer

  8. Has Antibacterial, Antiviral and Antifungal Properties

  9. Ginger and Turmeric May Improve Digestion

  10. Calcium and Vitamin D Contribute to Stronger Bones

Flower_of_turmeric.jpg

Turmeric Plant - Image Source

Turmeric Rhizome.jpg

Turmeric Rhizome - Image Source

GOLDEN MILK RECIPE

IMG_20190310_093058.jpg

  • 250ml unsweetened Almond Milk

  • 2 tsp Organic Turmeric powder or fresh grated Turmeric Rhizome

  • 1 piece grated fresh Ginger root or 1 tsp Ginger powder

  • 1-2 Cinnamon or Cassia bark or 1/2 tsp Cinnamon powder

  • Crushed black Peppercorns

  • 1 Vanilla Pod optional

  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil

  • 1 tsp Maple syrup (optional)

Directions:

Place all ingredients in saucepan and bring to the boil, simmer on a low heat for approximately 10 minutes.

IMG_20190310_094315.jpg

IMG_20190310_095629.jpg

Strain into a mug and enjoy a warming, spicy and creamy nightcap full of health benefits. To reap the health benefits, drink daily.

IMG_20190310_100152.jpg

IMG_20190310_100750_1.jpg

Another quick look at the making of Golden Milk.

IMG_20190310_093058-ANIMATION.gif

FAVM divider.png

I hope you try this warming healing drink full of sunshiny colours, and look forward to seeing what you're bringing to the FAVM table this Monday!

Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This looks so delicious. I drank loads of turmeric tea when I sprained my ankle a few months ago, and I'm sure it helped it heal, as an anti-inflammatory. And I'm certain that turmeric tea helped my toothache a while back. The toothache developed after my dentist replaced an old filling. It's likely that some bacteria got in during the treatment. My dentist advised me to take Ibuprofen regularly to ease the pain and inflammation, and he said he thought there was only a 30% chance that the inflammation would subside - he said I should use high-fluoride toothpaste for a couple of months, but he expected it to flare up at some point, requiring root canal treatment.
I used the toothpaste, and took Ibuprofen daily, as the pain was quite severe. After a couple of weeks, it was showing no signs of getting better, so I decided to try drinking turmeric tea instead. I continued to use the high-fluoride toothpaste too. Within a few days of taking the turmeric tea, the pain just disappeared, and never came back.
Not exactly a scientific experiment, but it seems to have saved me a big dental bill, at the very least!

Wow that's just amazing @natubat! My niece worked for a pharmaceutical company and she saw them fill capsules with turmeric, was being marketed as a natural anti-inflammatory, obviously at a much higher cost than drinking turmeric tea!
I'm so glad to hear it resolved your problem, that's wonderful!

It was amazing when it happened! When I first drank the turmeric tea, the pain subsided very quickly, but returned more quickly too. But then I drank some more turmeric tea, and this time the pain stayed away for longer - and then it disappeared altogether.
It's amazing that people will happily pay more for turmeric if it's sold in a capsule and marketed as "natural", than the real thing! I think some people just think it's more reassuring to take a pill.

This sounds like a wonderful healthy drink! Turmeric and ginger are regulars around our house. Hadn't thought about a night cap ;) Beautiful presentation my friends!

We've started having it in the morning lately, one can also double up and store in the refrigerator. Thank you for your lovely comments:)

Ive never actually tried golden milk, although I have heard of it. I DO love turmeric, and usually I just add it to food, or if I need extra, mix some into honey... I should really try this sometime!

mmm that sounds delish! I have always wanted to try this. Your post presentation and photo editing skills are getting crazy good!!

Ah thank you for that @princessmewmew, it's an excellent drink when one is fluey as well :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 426 (03/11/19)

Thank you so much @thesteemengine, where would we be if it were not for our trusted steemengine!

I haven't made any of this in a while, but now you have me craving a mug, too! Besides being so healthy, I can attest to it being so darn delicious. I was happy to make this over the winter often to make sure my immune system was ready to fight off any of those pesky winter colds. I think I've seen people make a smoothie out of similar flavors, so perhaps I need to try it that way now that the weather is getting warmer!

Never thought of adding that to smoothies, will try it, thank you for that @plantstoplanks!

Oh!! This sounds absolutely wonderful! I love how well you presented the whole thing!

I have to ask: what is Cassia bark ?

Thank you so much!!

!tip

Ah thank you for the commentt and the tip @dswigle! Cassia bark is similar to Cinnamon but just has a milder flavour.

Thank you so much!! First of all, the comment and tip are my pleasure and I appreciate the response back. I need to see if I can find it here. I probably can, just never knew I wanted it. ;)

Very nice @lizelle, it really does look healthy.

Thank you @gguy773, it is delicious as well:)

This sounds delicious! I've had commercially bottled golden milk before but never homemade. I'm sure this is 1000 times better.

Thank you for your feedback @ericvancewalton, I have never seen bottled Golden Milk locally. It is delicious, I can imagine the commercially manufactured golden milk will not taste the same!

This is the brand I buy occasionally - https://rebbl.co/products/turmeric-golden-milk/

I need to try homemade!

It’s just happen that I have all the ingredients in the kitchen except from the almond milk. Is the regular fresh milk okay?

Love the greenis presentation ❤️

Absolutely perfect any milk, one can double up and store in refrigerator for the next day. Thank you for your lovely comments @ joyrobinson! I've not been on Discord much, anything happening with steemkitchen?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98