Fruits and Veggies Monday - Ginataang Bilo-bilo (Glutinous rice in Coconut Milk)

It is another beautiful Monday and i can’t let this day past without joining in my favourite #fruitsandveggiesmonday by a fantastic Steemian @lenasveganliving.

This recipe i am going to share today is another popular and favourite afternoon snack or dessert in the Philippines, We called it Ginataang bilo-bilo or Glutinous rice balls in coconut Milk. It is made from glutinous rice ball, coconut milk, purple yam, sweet potato, taro yam, tapioca pearls and banana plantain (saba). Jackfruit and Pandan leaves are also added for more flavour.

image

Being away from home makes me miss the food i used to eat back when we were children. Living overseas for so many years has taught me a lot in so many ways. One of these is cooking, and because some of the ingredients is sometimes not available in your host country, you have to look for alternative and be creative.

In this recipe, i used banana plantain instead of cardava banana (saba), used tinned coconut milk instead of fresh ones. I omitted the purple yam, jackfruit and tapioca pearls (it is not available at my local store), But no worries it’s still very tasty and delicious!

image

Ingredients:

Glutinous rice, powder (¼ cup)
Banana plantain (2 pcs)
Sweet potatoes (medium size)
Taro root (3 pcs)
Pandan leaves
Coconut milk (2 cans)
Sugar (¼ cup)
Water (2 cups)

Preparations:

mix the Glutinous rice with just enough water (12 tbsp) to form a dough. Take a little piece and form it in a small ball or the size of your liking. (make sure they are not sticking on each other). Set aside.

image

image

In a pot, pour in the coconut milk and water, bring it to boil and simmer in a low heat. (Mix it regularly to avoid burning). Add the sugar and the Pandan leaves.

image

Add the Taro roots, sweet potatoes and banana plantains, cooked until tender.

image

image

Once the tubers are tender, add the Glutinous rice balls one at a time, cook for few minutes until the rice balls are soft. (You will know it’s cooked when you see the rice ball floating at the surface).

image

image

Serve warm or cold. Enjoy this very hearty treat.
Try it and let me know :)

image

What is your version of this delicious treat? I would love to know.

Your feedback is important and always appreciated. Thank you.

Sort:  

It is such an interesting and wonderful share and I am going to recreate the magic of this amazing recipe.

Thank you, and yes feel free to alter. sure its still delicious, anything that includes coconut milk.

I love glutinous rice balls but I've only tried making them myself once and made such a mess of it!

I soo love it too with coconut milk.
Yes, its kindda tricky to form a ball, for the dough i add a little water at a time to get the consistency i want. And for the ball, i make sure to dust my palm with glutinous rice powder to avoid sticking on my palm.

Thank you and regards to you @livinguktaiwan. X

I have never had anything like this before, so it is a delicious new treat to me! I would love to try it, though, as all of the ingredients sound so good!

Oh yes please try, its really a delicious treat :)
Thank you for stopping by.
Best wishes!

Hooo this is looking so delicious!!!i had a dessert in thailand, it was similar and i loved it. Glutonious rice balls looks nice:)

Thank you :) yes, we have some similar dishes on our asian counter parts, all has unique flavours and taste.
Blessings!

Very unique dessert indeed and I am sure it must be delicious. Great recipe and I believe I could get most of the ingredients including the jackfruit in one of the Asian supermarkets. Well done Dear Sheryl 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much @lenasveganliving. Yes, it is dellicious, it brings me back my childhood days. Love it. Best wishes :)

This was completely new for me, I've never even heard of glutinous rice! I'm very intrigued by this recipe, I'll love to try it out, but not sure if I could find all the ingredients... However, it's nice to see different foods from different parts of the world! :)

Hello there, thank you for your nice words :)
Its a traditional snack from the Philippines, glutinous rice is a sticky rice, used to make sweets stuff. You might find the ingredients on your nearest asian store.
Thank you for dropping by, and my best wishes to you!

Interesting, I'll have to check if I can find at least glutinous rice! :)

Yum… believe it or not I just discovered coconut milk as a soup base (I’ve been living under a rock or something) and it’s delicious! Always fun stopping by your page and taking a look at what cool dishes you’re cooking up @sherylneil. :)

Question: what code do you use to get your text to lighten up as if you’re quoting someone… ? It’s the first paragraph under your first picture where you demonstrate that… thank you !

Thank you so much for your lovely words @puravidaville. Glad to your new discover :)
I agree, anything with coconut taste awesome.

The code use for the text is > then space

Best wishes to you and a happy weekend!
X

let me see if this works! Yay 👏👏👏👏 it works. Thank you @sherylneil. These code things are a lot to remember, like an entirely new language.

Glad it works @puravidaville. Happy weekend. X

that looks delicious.

Thank you @proanima. It really is. A favourite snack from the Philippines.
Best wishes!



See your post featured here by @iyanpol12 on Foodie Friday, a community curation initiative by @SteemPh.

If you would like to support the Steemit Philippines community, please follow @SteemPh.Trail on SteemAuto

Thank you for this wonderful surprise @iyanpol12 and @steemph.trail
Always an honor to be featured at your curation trail :)

Mabuhay po! Blessings :)

Wow, this looks delicious! So different from anything Ive ever made.
Thanks for sharing how to make it!

Thank you too. A pleasure :)
Blessings as always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94