ADSactly Fun - A Bad Day

in #fun6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1082344497.jpg

source

This morning I woke up in a terrible mood. I have no idea why. I went to bed a fairly happy chappy. Then I woke and everything seemed wrong with the world.

At first, I thought it might be me. Perhaps I was the one at fault? It didn't take me long to realise though that it most certainly was not me that was the problem. It was everything else in the world. I knew this as within thirty seconds of getting out of bed I stubbed my toe on something.

What in the blazes!?!?!

I screamed, hopping back and forth whilst hugging my foot close to my chest like an old raggedy teddy bear.

15s28f_2018_20180222213546708.jpg

source

Perhaps I should be more careful? I thought as I headed into the shower. After all, accidents do happen. I stood under the hot shower luxuriating in the warmth. Silly me, bumping my toe.

Aarrrgh!!!

I screamed like a guinea pig being pressed into a sandwich. The water had gone stone cold!? I hopped out of the shower and shouted some very choice curse words. You could say that the air turned as blue as my now cold skin.

Whilst I was shouting and cursing, I accidentally kicked my toe against something again and this led to even more cursing and shouting.

When the throbbing pain from my toe had calmed down I dried myself off and headed off to work. I was now heartily convinced that fate itself was against me today and that no matter what, there was trouble ahead.

By the time I got to the train station though, I had given myself a resounding shake and put my best positivity hat on. Let's see what you have got oh fickle fate. I am ready to poke you in the eye with my special poky stick!

Eyepoke.gif

I made this

The day is what you make it!

I sang to myself happily.

I got onto my usual train. It's normally quite empty. Today it was full. I was pressed up against a particularly large and not very nice smelling man. He smelt like a bin that a cat had used as a toilet. Occasionally when the train rounded a corner his big round tummy would push quite firmly into me.

After being his train wife for the twenty minutes of the journey, I felt quite nauseous by the time I got off at my stop. It looked like fate was pulling out the big guns to annoy me.

La la la, you can't annoy me silly fate.

I sang in my head.

As I walked the rest of the way into work I had a quick browse of my feed on Steemit.

Grrrr.

Out of the first ten posts I looked at there were three How to make it big on Steemit! posts. They were all written by people who had been on the site for less than a couple of weeks. I found that to be a little irritating.

15s28f_2018_20180222213854289.jpg

I made this

I put it out of my mind and went to the coffee shop and ordered my usual life-saving coffee with milk. Ah. this will sort me out.

As I stepped outside I took a grateful sip.

What the flump?!

They had given me some sort of horrible cinnamon thing. It was horrible, like licking a dead mouse on a stick instead of a yummy lollipop.

I stormed back in. By now my zen calm was truly gone.

You gave me some guff cinnamon thing?

That's what you ordered.

No I did not!

I half screamed.

They recognised a madman denied caffeine and quickly made me a real coffee.

I left the shop, my mood beyond saving by any positive thinking.

15s28f_2018_20180222213854289_20180222214041438.jpg

source

Like an angry warthog, I stamped into work. This day was going to be terrible I knew it! Nothing could change that, absolutely NOTHING!

My phone rang.

Raaar!

I roared and put the phone to my ear.

What is it?!

I bellowed. My rage was palpable!

Daddy? Why do you sound like you are being a grumble-drawers?

It was my little daughter who was just 5 years old, just hearing her voice made my bad mood drift away like smoke.

Sorry lass. I didn't mean to be a grumble-drawers.

Well you were. Silly Daddy. Be a happy Daddy instead!

And just like that, I was a happy Daddy, just when I thought the day was going to be awful she had snapped me out of my grumbliness. Later when I arrived home I told her how she had turned my day around and she had laughed about me letting life make me grumpy.

She had a point. I think we can learn some valuable lessons from children!

------------------------------------

What about you? Have you ever gotten advice from the mouth of babes as it were? Or have you managed to turn a day around from bad to good by something positive happening or even just being positive?

Give us your best tales of turning things round in the comments. I will be there to listen!

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

I can feel you! I have obstructive sleep apnea and sometimes, Im too tired and fall sleep without wearing my CPAP mask. When I wake up, I feel so tired and unable to concentrate. I'm more prone to accidents and it's really hard to start working. I think the biggest lesson I learned is not to judge others due to any behavior which doesn't conform to our own standards. Who knows if someone has a medical problem or just having a bad day? That's what kids are for. I also have a 5y.o. and I can attest to the fact that children are gifts from God. Thanks for sharing!

Wow. Really beautiful @adsactly. Today is sure a good day, all the blogs i am visiting are inspiring me.
I dont have any kids yet, but i have very small nieces i have stayed with and at the sametimei i learn from them.
A funny thing happens after holidays when i go to visit them. A mountain of new toys enter my neices' lives. The toys are initially met with incredible excitement. However, after two or three days, they are pushed to the side as nieces return to the tried-and-true toys they had been playing with long before the holiday ever occurred. The new toys we thought would make them happier, don’t. Instead, they just start to get in the way.
We often think that material possessions will bring lasting excitement into our life, but most of the time they just end up getting in the way.
Thank you @meesterboom for listening. :)

You are welcome :0)

I have witnessed this exact phenomenon of which you speak. It is funny to see new toys losing their shine so quickly.

Glad you enjoyed!

And just like that, I was a happy Daddy, just when I thought the day was going to be awful she had snapped me out of my grumbliness.

These days have happened to me soo many times. As a matter of fact, yesterday I got up with my left leg first from my dumpster. I was angry at everyone for no reason at one point I broke and at that moment it all immediately changed. Just like that, just like in your story. Sometimes we have reach this “breaking point” to wake up from this Angrrrrrrr. It’s just all in our head, we are just a humans and we do make a mistake. I think the solution for this occasionall angr is to get nice a punching bag and ideally just punch it every day until you basically drap dead.

lol. Funny, but true!

Lol, that would certainly work. You know it might be that that I am missing. I have a punch/kick bash but it is in the garage and it's too cold in winter. I bet that means in spring I will be a laid back punchy person!

Grateful to @adsactly @meesterboom for writing this post, which reminds us that although we have difficult times and times we must always have the perseverance and hope that this day will change to be positive and wonderful.

I will tell you an anecdote: Working for an exhibition of the university, I had to stay up late, I had the exhibition for 09:00 am, and I got up very late, what made me angry with me, after being ready, the car did not turn on due to problems battery, I cursed that day, until my mother told me, remember what the Bible says always strive and be brave, also everything happens, you must value your life .

I said, ¿I'm going to value when today is a bad day?, only she smiled. I sat and thought, ¿why it will be that she rejoices of my evil?; My heart wrinkles and I said to myself, What a thing to say about my mother! who loves me, and that's when I began to value; first, I had awakened, I was healthy, I could walk; that filled me with enthusiasm and I went grabbing a bus, then I was valuing the landscape while I arrived at the university.

Already in the university, I realized that the professor had not arrived, what could make me more time for my exhibition.

In the end, I presented the topic with authority and with great pride also spoke about the reflection I had had.

By equaling that your writing @adsactly you valued and felt your girl and were optimistic on several occasions; I value the fact of having a mother, having the ability to do things well and being confident that I have a God who accompanies me.

Dia Exitoso english.PNG

As I told some people the last couple of days: it's so easy to complain about small things but we should keep the bigger picture in mind and - instead of complaining - get it off our chest by writing a funny post on it. That is exactly what you are doing, thereby turning something negative in a postive thing. Relieving yourself and putting a smile on our faces.

Thank you and greetings from Madrid

where I walk around with a swollen ankle, a bump on my head from the button of the bathroom's central heating and a slight sunburn as well as a cold, while I keep reminding myself that I am having a good time in a beautiful place :>)

A good story with meaning. In our life there are often good and bad days. This is the same as the weather, there is a networked sun and sometimes it rains.
Sometimes any person has a "boiling point" when emotions spill out. But we are just ordinary people and tend to make mistakes. Especially we make these mistakes in a fit of anger or emotion.
Therefore it is worth doing sublimation. Find something that helps get rid of negative emotions. Some engage in sports, some have sex (by the way a good way). Everyone has their own ways to relieve nervous tension. The main thing is that it's not drugs or alcohol.
Thanks, I liked the story.

Hhhh funny
When bad luck comes all at once .. feeling bad
Great post well done

@adsactly This Happens with everyone, one should always keep on going... Have a nice and wonderful day...

every day is a good day its depend on one's mood is his day good or bad

Totally agree with you it happens everyone out there,we had bad day for the whole time and suddenly a small empathy from little ones,or some kind of apreciations from them makes your life a 180 degree flip and boom it's turn out to be a good day.

Very nice day

You do have to just keep on going!

A good day nor bad day is a day! Keep it happy!

Don’t let your past suffer your future.

Ok , so you have bad day.

Don’t beat yousrself up over it, dont let one bad decision send you out of control.

Get back into your running shoes.

Get back to making decisions that improve your health and your hapiness.

Exactly. This is what I had lost sight of. It is so easy to do but we must stay positive and keep on going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01