ADSactly Fun - Sandwich Games

in #fun6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1513938960.jpg

I stood in the cafe waiting for my order. It always takes a little longer than normal because I ask them to add fresh chillies in it. This causes a panic in the place because, as much as they claim that all their food is made fresh there and then. It's actually made much earlier in the day and they just hope that no-one asks for anything slightly different from the menu.

In fact, if you ask them to make your sandwich fresh they will claim that it is. But it isn't really. At least, not unless you ask for something extra.

It+is+fresh%21.gif

So my pleasant lunchtime scenario goes a little like this...

You have fresh chillies yes? Can I have fresh chillies on my firecracker chicken sandwich, please?

Um, it's already spicy?

To which I always answer,

Oh I know, I just love fresh chillies!! More chillies on it please!

The server recoils in horror. To their credit, their smile remains frozen in place as they back off, all the while maintaining that ever important, customer friendly eye contact. They nudge a supervisor and relay the news, eyes wide with terror.

The supervisor comes over. Wow, his smile is even brighter and bigger than the server who took my order.

Howdy sir, just checking in with ya? You know our firecracker chicken is already damn hot and spicy? That's the firecracker for ya!

15dgdag_20171216080200764.jpg

I do know that but as I said to the other guy, I just love me some fresh chillies! You can make food fresh to order can't you?

A trickle of sweat running down from the supervisors hairline is the only thing that betrays his anxiety.

Well now, of course we can! Let me just buzz the kitchen for ya!

He moves away with a frozen smile picking up a phone then muttering frantically in it. The odd accusing glance is thrown my way. Then the supervisor returns to me and with a reassuring, yet slightly manic smile informs me it will be five minutes or so.

I can imagine the person in the kitchen at the other end of the phone taking the news and turning to the rest of the kitchen staff.

Oh crap people. It's a code red. We got a non-conformist. I repeat, a non-conformist wanting fresh chillis in his sandwich!

15dgdag_20171216081604486.jpg

Panic ensues. A chef waving a knife shouts at the phone man.

Sir, do you want me to go up there and take him out?

Just find some damn fresh chillies and make a fresh sandwich. Make it snappy!

Make it fresh, sir? We gone and made up all the food this mornin!

The phone man gritting his teeth at this.

It's a kitchen dammit, there has to be fresh stuff somewhere!?!

----------------

Meanwhile, up top, I stand there waiting. I smile at the supervisor. I can see his hands twitching with fear. He is probably thinking that this time they won't be able to rustle up a fresh sandwich and the resultant disaster might make national TV.

I wonder how far they will go to save their reputation? Will they attempt to eliminate me so that I can't talk?

15dgdag_20171216081807219.jpg

The second hand on the big clock behind the counter marches onward. Almost five minutes. The supervisor touches his ear and winces as if in pain, He glances at me then touches his ear again. An earpiece? Is this it, are they even now being told that no, there were no fresh ingredients and that to save the company's reputation they will have to clip me, quickly and quietly?

Then a smile breaks out like the sun after a storm. Someone appears to his right and hands him a paper-wrapped sandwich. He stands straight and puffs out his chest with pride. This, this, is what he was born for. He proffers the sandwich forth, like an ancient scroll of hidden wisdoms.

There you are sir. One Freshly Made Firecracker Chicken Sandwich with fresh chillies.

At the edge of hearing one could almost hear a chorus of trumpets.

15dgdag_20171216082942136.jpg

Cheers mate!

I step outside. Leaning against a wall is one of the chefs smoking a cigarette. I open up the sandwich and gently, ever so gently scrape the fresh chillies off with a finger onto the ground.

The chef looks on aghast.

It's spicy enough as it is without fresh chillies eh!

I remark jauntily to the chef and head off whistling a jaunty tune. I do love a freshly prepared sandwich!

----------------

What lengths will you go to to make sure that your food is fresh? Do you have any tricks up your sleeve to get better service from three places?

Let us know in the comments!

All pictures sourced from pixabay and in most cases subjected to various manipulations. Apart from my amazing hand-made gif, that's all mine!

Authored by: @meesterboom



Go Adsactly

Sort:  

Good idea to check the fresh food, very useful and informative post. Thanks

hmm, this is interesting, thank you.

It's a very good idea to check whether the food is fresh or unfresh....they caught red handed ....very informative post thank you for sharing.

Unfortunately, the only trick i have is when the food is not fresh, not go again to that place and request the complaint book. Its always hard to know when the food is fresh or not, but generally i had good experiences in vegetarian/vegan restaurants.

Well, that is also a good thing to do! I have had good experiences in those places too

¨Oh crap people. It's a code red. We got a non-conformist. I repeat, a non-conformist wanting fresh chillis in his sandwich!¨ these part made me laught a lot.

Hehe, I'm glad to hear it!

Realmente en la mente humana nacen es un sin fin de matavillas, que algunos llaman proyectos y otros sueños. Lo importante es cumplirlos.
Éxitos

Lol, good one, they are caught red handed... there are always a Mr Nice guy appear somewhere to spoil the party of panic.. :(

Japan started to track wild life meat on blockchain, soon sandwiches would also be track on blockchain to reassure the health and freshness, as it holds the history and time stamp... :)

That's actually a really good way to stop food poisoning . I think not only Japan , every country should follow the way Japan works with the blockchain. If it helps people then why not invest in it and have the advantage, am I right ? = )

That is absolutely correct.. :)
Soon or later major adoption on the way, would love to see the food chain is being tracked, at first and foremost by all country... as @meesterboom needed and the world needed, blockchain being one of the solution to preserve the freshness of the food that we consume.. but a very efficient one perhaps... :)

Hopefully we gonna have countries using it as soon as possible because the people need this = )

Isn't that an awesome idea to track them on the blockchain!

Yes it is.. :)

With that wild life meat tracking, wild life to preserve would be there, and also the control of license hunter, each customer in restaurant in Japan can view the certificate of the meat, the history of it, who was the hunter and so on...

Later once if this is incorporated to food, bet you, only healthy food we would be consuming in, we can track what nutrient were supply to the salad in the sandwich and at correct amount or not, which is endorse by reputable 3rd party inspection house, which the reputation of the 3rd party also is view able for public confidence..

Future of health, wealth and prosperity is very near.. :)


ha ha ha ...
many of us face it when ever we go to restaurants. but putting is in a presentable form is lovely. i had same feeling several times. good post. i have to think one like this now,

this is very good expression:

It is, I am quite proud of it!

I really love this story. I never expected it to be actually enjoyable, but I was wrong. It's people like you that really inspire me to start my own story series. I have always wanted to do that, however, I have never mustered enough courage to do so, yet I want to share what I have in my head with the world. This amazing world of imperial relics, monsters, love, agony, and fear. I believe this time it's going to be different. I'll start my own story line...here on steemit . I can't always be afraid of being judged by people, and even if it's bad, i'll try and take constructive criticism and better myself. Plus, i'm sure someone out there will like what I post... I mean there is 7.3 billion people out there. don't you agree? :)

Lol. You can't get better unless you start writing so you got nothing to lose!

Hello @adsactly
I'm amazed as to how you played the game so well that you had your sandwich fresh! I don't usually revisit a cafe or a restaurant if I don't enjoy their services.
I could use your trick to get better services 😂. Thanks for the tip.


@geniusvillain

It's all about them tricks ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87