ADSactly Fun - Scarecrow

in #fun6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1640871232.jpg

source

Aye aye, here comes Scarecrow!

I shouted.

We were in the pub watching some world cup football madness and our friend Scarecrow was last to arrive.

Quit it with the Scarecrow nonsense!

He barked as he pulled a seat up.

If the cap fits...

Crowed my mate, Mr T, raucously.

And before you sit down Ol' ScareyCrow man, get the drinks in!

Scarecrow went off to the bar grumbling about his nickname.

One of the guys there was a friend of Mr T's.

Why do you guys call him Scarecrow? I don't think he likes it!

See any seagulls? Pigeons?

Said I.

kfi47h.jpg

source

Maybe that's why... or maybe it's because...


Stubby, couldn't you find any shoes?

Some years ago. One of the few remaining single males in my circle of friends, Chibber, was getting married. I was at the venue with my mate Mr T and our other friend Stubby had arrived.

We called him Stubby because he worked out a lot on his upper body. For some reason, it seemed like genetics had conspired against him and he was an odd shape. A muscular shape it has to be said but a very odd shape. Like someone had stuffed a guinea pig into a cardboard tube.

kfi47h_20180703212722065.jpg

source

Besides his odd shape, he was well known for his maverick dress sense. One which had seemed quite cool when he was younger but now seemed quite eccentric as he got older.

Still, at a wedding, we assumed he would don the required suit and shoes nonsense like every other human there. Or, being as it was Scotland he could turn up in a skirt saying it was the national dress, like me and Mr T had.

Ok, ok. We weren't wearing skirts as such. Oh no. We were carrying the pride of Scotland on our bodies and were dressed in full Scottish regalia. Which means a kilt and no, we don't wear anything underneath them. It's not the done thing for a Scotsman to tether the yacht in the harbour.

kfi47h_20180703212946148.jpg

source

I was quite glad of the breeze which whipped up my kilt now and then, we were experiencing quite the un-Scottish heatwave and having all of my legs exposed was keeping the sweating at bay.

Of course, Stubby couldn't turn up in a kilt or even a regular suit. Oh no, he was wearing a mad tartan suit with raggedy old trainers. To top that off he had a flat cap on which made his floppy hair stick out in tufts at the side.

I am not averse to mixing up the shoes as a rule but this was Stubby. He had to be taunted. It's what we did.

kfi47h_20180703213106879.jpg

source

Are you going for a run? Is there a Marathon on today?

I enquired.

He made a face as if his elbow was eating chips.

Very funny, no, there isn't a Marathon today.

Mr T leant in and jabbed him in the ribs.

Have you got keyrings and other tat under that jacket. Are you going to sell trinkets?

Beat it Mr T. And you as well, BoomDawg. I can't help it if you are both jealous that I possess more flair and panache than you can ever dream of.

Ooooooooohhh.

I and Mr T said with a giggle.

Well, if you are sure mate. Let's go in and shake the wedding shake.

kfi47h_20180703213249684.jpg

We all headed in.

It was a delightful ceremony. The couple looked happy and everyone enjoyed the day. By the time the evening meal had rolled around everyone was slightly drunk on champagne and the many toasts involving Balvenie, the grooms favourite malt which his father had thoughtfully placed a bottle of on each table. (It's my favourite too, you should try it!)

It was time for the Father of the bride to make his speech.

He was a bit drunker than most in the room. In fact, he could hardly stand.

But stand he did, with a little assistance and swaying at the top table, he opened his mouth to begin his speech. Then he caught sight of Stubby.

Who let the bloody Scarecrow in?!?

He yodelled.

kfi47h_20180703213425030.jpg

source


And that is how Stubby became Scarecrow!

I said, just in time for Scarecrow to come back with the drinks.

He sat down shaking his head.

Well if we have time, maybe we will go into the real story behind old Mr Boom there and how he got his name...

I made a face as if a dog had run away with my apple.

One day perhaps, one day!

------------------------------------

What about you? What is the oddest nickname you have heard someone being called? Have you actually been there and witnessed the birth of one?

Even better, have you been the creator and bestower of this fine gift?

Tell us your best tales in the comments. I will be there to listen!

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Man I am to embarrassed to share my nickname..............but let me say that just like stuby, it had a lot to do with my body as well :-)

I think the the story should have called 'Naming the scarecrow'. I am not sure about anyone else's name that I have seen evolving in front of myself. Like all fun names even mine came at a random indecent. There was no gradual built up towards it. One day my friend called me the 'name' and it stuck.

It was embarrassing in those years and its a bit as well now but its mostly fun remembering it now. I too did my part of christening my friends according to their quirks or even a random situation in which they made an ass out of themselves. LOL!!!

Lol, I was going to call it that. But it was too long. I am all about the snappy short titles :O)

HEhe, of course we are all desperate to know your nickname now!"

Like someone had stuffed a guinea pig into a cardboard tube.

That’s really hard to imagine lol especially if this person, in your case your friend Stubby, is an upper body builder. Ohh, 🤔 now I can imagine it 😱. I wonder what exactly did father of the bride saw when he called Stubby a “bloody Scarecrow”?
No nicknames story of mine would beat yours!

One day perhaps, one day I hope we get to read real story behind old Mr Boom there and how he got his name...or did we already?

I dont think I have shared the story on steemit. Not directly. Maybe one day though! :O)

He was an upper body builder, totally ignored his legs. Looked like a beefy sparrow!

Never tried on a kilt, must try one of these days. I am in fact a quarter Scottish after all.

If you are a quarter of the way there it simply is a must!

I know, as is going there to get dual nationality and a passport before they go independent! haha

Lol, it might be a whole so you have plenty of time!

very funny story, I like it, wedding is a very beautiful thing, let live happily :), how long did you write this story :)?

It took a few hours to write and illustrate!

thanks for answer :) good luck :]

Congratulations on your friend's wedding!

Also, as for nicknames, the oddest ones are definitely the ones that I see on the internet, they trump any odd real life nicknames lol

You are right. The internet ones can often be hilarious!

Friend @adsactly, nice to greet you, I was in the birth of an unusual name envelope, hahaha I have a friend, she visited us every night at home, to laugh and have fun for a while, but a friend in common began to realize how thin was this other friend was getting, and one night with laughter and laughter, came the comment of her thinness, and it was there, that our friend in common, started calling (CALCIBON B) this here in my country, is a medicine, which has as its main label, a skeleton, and there is a commercial of the same medicine, where the human skeleton comes out, and from there, every time we saw it, we just laughed, because we saw it approaching us and we imagine the human skeleton coming, maybe I can not tell the story very well, but you should see how thin it is, and know the commercial, I think it would be the only way to understand what I'm telling you, best regards from Venezuela.

Wow fantastic fun but most likely your blog post

If her dad thought he looked like a scarecrow then he must be terrified of what the grandbabies will look like. Que the gnomes.

You do things when opportunities come. I have experienced times in my life when I have many ideas coming, and I have a long dry period.
and I am sure you will succeed in this social media,
because a lot of your work is very good and extraordinary,You do things when opportunities come. I have experienced times in my life when I have many ideas coming, and I have a long dry period.
and I am sure you will succeed in this social media,
because a lot of your work is very good and extraordinary,
The contents of this post is very interesting.
I'm sure many people who want to enjoy your post,
always successful greetings
The contents of this post is very interesting.
I'm sure many people who want to enjoy your post,
always successful greetings

And successful greetings to you too

Okay friend
hopefully we can be good friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91