You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creative Date Idea 26: Culinary Collaboration, Anyone?

in #fun6 years ago

What a fun idea! I have one kid with crazy allergies so we rarely go out. But I've made up for it with really good quality food and now I've spoiled my husband. When we do go out, he's always comparing the food to my cooking! Lol...

Plus it's really hard to find establishments that serve organic, grass fed or locally raised ingredients that are also kid friendly. We try to make all holidays fun family events. For example, Valentine's Day I served filet mignon and King Crab Legs. Dessert was a wheat-free, dairy-free, egg-free vanilla cake with a decadent cooked white frosting. Aside from the denser texture of the cake, you wouldn't know it was allergy friendly!

Well, your book sounds like a great wedding present! I'll have to keep that in mind for future gift-giving!

Sort:  

Well thank you!:) So with your allergies I wonder if you would like my Gluten and Dairy Free Chocolate Strawberry Tart? I made it with my nieces and nephew. :) I bet it is hard to find places that serve good food and meet your food requirements. That is awesome your husband likes your cooking as well. I like to think that whomever I wind up marrying will like my food. lol

I would love to see that recipe. Is it one of your posts?

It's rare I ever find a recipe that doesn't need some tweaking to suit her needs. For example, she sometimes can tolerate strawberries, but usually blueberries or blackberries arer a safer bet. But it's all good. I've learned so much as a cook and a chemist (egg-free baking is more science than baking) so I'm grateful for the journey. I'm sure the future Mrschef111 will be quite grateful to have a hubby that cooks! Mine used to cook from time to time, but with the allergy isses, I pretty much take that role, although he will barbecue for me from time to time while I make the sides, so that's a nice help too.

Yep if you scroll back a pit on my posts you will find it. :) And you could replace the strawberries with blackberries and make it a blackberry tart! Yeah there are some pretty good egg substitutes out there, I haven't really used them, but have researched it a bit, a lot of people ask me if there are egg substitutes in my dishes. haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81