Visiting CERN (first impressions)

in #fun6 years ago

As you know (if you don't shame on you), steemSTEM had a meetup at CERN and then went down to the LHC. Please check out @steemstem and @lemouth for info on that.

I was there too! And it was great!

I arrived on the 8th in the evening in Geneva, met with the others and together we drove to a restaurant were we had pizza, pasta and some other stuff.

Sketch1.png

@dber the mushroom guy had, of course, mushroom pizza.

I also brought him some illegal substances from Germany which he would later eat smuggle into the USA.

w.png

The next day, we first went into the globe of science

Sketch3.png

Then the CERN microcosm, where previously recorded people on screen acted like they're actually there and waiting for you to choose a menu option. They then explained stuff.

Sketch4.png

Later, @lemouth held a presentation on ... physics ... (ok it was a great presentation, I feel like I learned something), which was then taken over by a wonderful woman who also showed us around after that.

Sketch3.2.png

We then went down to see the CMS, the official highlight of the day.

Sketch5.png

After that, some people left but the majority went out to drink and eat something (it was already evening). We kind of lost 2 people who then later turned up mostly unharmed.

Sketch6.png

And that was it!

I will write a proper post on @suesa which will probably be published tomorrow. There will be a list of everyone who was there and you should check out their blogs and posts about the meetup too!

Sort:  

Look your art work is just outstanding!! You really missed your calling!! You are sure loving that new tablety drawing thing aren’t you my rockstar !! ;)

I love my tablet so much. It was intended for serious science stuff but 90% of usage time has gone to drawing so far.

Picasso eat your heart out!!

Sounds like a great time. The Kinder egg joke had me laughing.

Your drawing of me looks very... me. I like your drawings! They are cool :)

Lol. I can almost sense the cool sarcasm here :D.
I'm kidding sir. The drawings look.. "real" :)

:D
I was afraid you'd hate it

Naaaa, never. physicists can laugh :)

That I saw a lot!

One more: lol :D

LOVE the drawings, that one taking selfies at the detector looks like me :D

Nah, it's not pretty enough to be you

❤ ❤ ❤

Awesome!! Can't wait to read the detailed post on this CERN meetup :D

Good thing you enjoyed your trip to CERN, i bet you saw some awesome cables xD
Came here to see selfies... still, no selfies, flies away xD
I Didn't know you had a second account!!

Maybe there will be selfies in the proper post ... :P
And the second account is so that I can freely shitpost without upsetting my autovoters who expect quality content :D those who autovote my "random" account know what they're doing.

Maybe there will be selfies in the proper post ... :P

No maybe... post those selfies xD i'm the last person who can say this, just look at my picture, i have a smiley face as a face ahaha

Lol. I can pick one or two people I know from your 6th sketch :).
P.S: It's obvious you all had fun at the CERN meetup

Lol...the last drawing explains so well what happened! Anyhow, this is probably the best recap about the meetup I'll see on steemit XD

That might be :'D

Great photos :)

Wow great experience
I also want to visit the CERN
But I will do it after getting a job
Have fun
Waiting for the full information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71