Fooling with Crows

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

Crow2.jpg

Several years ago, I sold a car through Shift, a service in my state that connects used car sellers and buyers. Apparently, I’m still on Shift’s mailing list. Today, the company sent me an e-mail explaining that its data on buyers’ preferences for political parties had been analyzed. And it invited me to click the link to shop for “Republican Cars” or “Democrat Cars” (depending on one’s own preference, of course).

DR.png

This seemed a big step, but I was not too surprised. Studies have shown several differences in people based upon their politics, so why not car preferences? I clicked the link, looking forward to learning which kinds of cars were Democratic and which were Republican. However, both links took me to the same list: it’s a list of ALL cars Shift is selling. Both political parties: same list.

That was when I went back to the e-mail and noticed the * asterisk that this offer is only good on April 1. That was all it said, but we can fill in some more details on our own:

“Happy April Fool’s Day, fool. You’ve been punked.”

There is no list for different political affiliations; it’s all a joke. And this company did a nice job because they probably got plenty of curious clicks on that ad campaign. Designing the e-mail probably took about 10 minutes. A select few probably saw it as a joke from the beginning. Some gullible people like me will figure it out fairly quickly while others may never figure it out. Many people probably tweeted and shared those links with their friends.

End result: Nobody got hurt or offended. Shift got some extra clicks and additional buzz until people realized it was a hoax. Well done.

I wish I could say that was the only April Fool’s joke that fooled me, but I have kids. Part of being a parent is to play along with any fun ideas they have. Plastic spiders, flour in the sugar jar, mustard in the toothpaste; things like that. One of my kids made me toast for breakfast and mixed in a bunch of garlic salt with the butter. It was nasty. Our other kid changed the language on my phone to Japanese. When I asked her to fix it, she told me she had done so, but left it on Dutch for the rest of the day.

April Fools.jpg

All things considered, we got off fairly easily today, since some years there are a lot more jokes and practical witchcraft. Perhaps this April 1 was light because April Fool’s Day fell on the same day as Easter, which has not happened in 60 years.

I’ll Admit Any Mistakes When the Time Comes

Also, someone else told me that I need to admit my mistake for posting a few months ago about Shohei Ohtani, the Japanese (now American) baseball star. I had recommended that he should sign with a National League team in the U.S. (where the pitchers also have a turn as hitters), since he wanted to play on both sides of the ball. I suggested a National League team would be a lower-pressure situation for him if it turns out that he isn’t a great hitter, because an American League team will be relying on him for more production if it uses him as a pitcher and designated hitter in separate games.

So someone said I should admit my mistake, since Ohtani signed with an American League team (as every single expert besides me predicted, so it wasn’t much of a surprise). And it looks like he can hit a little.

Hit a little? Yes, he got one hit on his first day. And he pitched nicely today. I never said he couldn’t pitch; he’s a very good pitcher. I questioned whether he can hit productively in Major League Baseball. At the moment, he has one hit and we are three games into a season that lasts 162 games, so it seems JUST a bit early to be weighing in with any judgments.

Even though he got a hit in his first MLB at bat, I’ll stick by my skepticism and my belief that he may struggle as a hitter. If not right away, wait until he’s had a few months’ worth of at bats and the opposing teams have a book on his strengths and weaknesses. Scouting reports will point out his weaknesses; everyone has at least one. And when they learn how to pitch to him as a hitter, watch whether he’s able to make adjustments and still be productive.

Crow CC Wiki Dickdaniels.jpg

I Won’t Eat Any Crow

Therefore, I will not eat any crow today. For those readers for whom English is not a first language or who may not be familiar with this expression, “eating crow” means apologizing publicly for one’s mistakes.

Come to think of it, there are several idioms in English that involve crows. If you have a crow to pluck with me, we’ll settle it soon enough. A few months might seem like a long time to wait, but I’ll be up with the crows and it’s not that far the way the crow flies. When I win, I won’t crow about it.

Fuller list of crow idioms: https://idioms.thefreedictionary.com/crow

Okay, enough is enough. I’m feeling like crow bait.

EatingCrow.jpg

If You Prefer to Eat Crow Literally, Here is Some Inspiration

Pan-fried Crow Filets

Check out Scott Rea’s video on how to prepare these. They sound divine. I’ll pass, but I did watch the video.

Crow on the Bone with Fennel

A MasterChef contestant tried impressing the judges with this one. It made an impact, but not in the right way.

Frying Crows in Lithuania

The feast is on and guess what’s for dinner.

I hear it tastes a lot like chicken. After a few beers, I’d probably try it, but I’d rather not. I might go for some humble pie though.

Top photo: Public domain from Pixabay. Crow photo: Creative Commons via Wikipedia by Dickdaniels. Shift e-mail is courtesy of Shift.

Sort:  

why should the date April 1, whether there is a promo on that date

see how you missed being court jester if you'd tagged this with #comdeyopenmic. Will be watching and collecting crows in the coming months and god save you if you turn out to be wrong. a special dlive section will be set up to watch donkey gulp down an abbatoir worth of meat.

We are watching you!

We donkeys have eyes in the back of our heads too.

the staring contest just got interesting!

Back in 2013, me and my friend came upon a dead crow in the street once. It wasn't crushed or anything nasty like that, and seemed fairly fresh. Probably electrocuted?

We hung out around it a bit, thinking what to do with it and coming up with a way to get rid of it or something.
However, things escalated when my friend bet me on something. And if I'd lost that bet, I'd have to eat the crow. Literally.

And I lost.

No one was around when I tore apart that crow thankfully. Almost barfed. That asshole recorded the whole thing without me knowing and now everyone calls me the crow eater. >_>
Warning: it is nasty.

That's truly nasty. If you're going to dine on roadkill, at least bring along some BBQ sauce. :)

I don't know man, just wanted to get over with it as quick as possible.

now it's beginning to make sense why traf traded you off. urghhhh

Yeah I'm not proud of this either.
A bet's a bet though.

i've never thought about eating a crow, i might wanna try it too. lol !

Crows were scavengers and they are like garbage collector in nature. They are not created for as human food but instead they are the ones to clean up viruses and bacteria from dead animals to prevent it from spreading to other live animals.

They have digestive enzymes that can kills any type of bacteria from dead animals and even their shit is so potent that can kill bacteria.

So we found a new medicine. Eat crows and be healthy!

I hate to say I told you, Crow, but I told you, Crow.
I don't know why I said that.

Coming from you, it may have some deeper profound meaning that I'll have to find through much reflection. :)

Even the word 'meaning', has a meaning.

Stop Jaden Smithing us.

you saw one in a dream last night

How did you know that?

his twin visited and accused their pops of leaving them out to hang. don't for one second think your art don't grow wings and live

Oh yeah, it's something original and the video about fried crows is a very interesting sight, I honestly did not try the raven, haha. But jokes on April 1 are always appropriate and it was great! Thank you @donkeypong

I do realize that numerous individuals don't eat certain brutes out of an (I think) ridiculous arrangement of ethics that different certain creatures from others. In any case, beyond any doubt crows eat a considerable measure of rubbish and are not brought up in ranches for eating, while chicken are "particularly" looked after eating, which would warrant higher wellbeing models.

April 1 jokes should be nasty haha. But we understood that eating it helps better then medicine, because kills bacterias so if you stay in the forest and you see the animal and you feel really bad go catch it, eat it and you are healthy again!

The tone of humour in your narrative suggests you are a lively person. I laughed hard reading the part where you thought some cars were Democrats while others were republican. It is better that it was all an April Fool hullabaloo, otherwise anarchists will have to ride on donkeys. Lol

It is also funny how your children changed your phone language to Japanese. Children can be very annoying sometimes but they are beautiful creatures nevertheless.

Thanks for lighting up my day, boss.

Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, they needed a "None of the Above" party option there also.

Hahaha I agree with you absolutely because there are surely some guys who don't give a duck about politics

not sure if i can say same thing for a coz who bathes gadgets for a living.

Sorry about the pranks, i admit that i also fell for 3 pranks and the biggest was one by our steemit whatsapp group members who said that our wallets were being emptied...!!! I had to even write a post of the 3 pranks,it was a great day though.

Your daughter must be stubborn to change your phone into Japanese and then to Dutch!

I gotta say, I'm pretty open to trying anything once but the idea of actually eating crow doesn't appeal to me. Maybe it's the years of watching crows eat roadkill or whatever else it can sink it's beak into. As for your prediction, you didn't knowm that you MUST be right immediately or else people will call you a fool. It is human nature for people to look to prove us wrong and take pleasue in our mistakes. I personally don't have an opinion about how it might play out but one at bat is too small a sample size to pass judgement. Sheesh, in that case Justin Smoak is going to break records this season!!
Finally, being a dad of 3 and having 6 kids total between my partner and myself makes April Fool's day interesting in our house. They have been talking about it for weeks. I think my favourite or maybe least favourite has been the not so delicious Oreo cookies the darling kids served one time. They had scraped out the yummy filling and replaced it with toothpaste. I supposed it could have been worse. Happy Easter!!!

Toothpaste Oreos - I'll have to try that some time!

Thats a pretty good April's Fools from Shift! You say no one got triggered but i bet out there someone didn't get the joke and its currently really mad writing back at them for dividing the country even more lol!

There where not that many April's Fools jokes out there this year or at least not that many worth taken notice off, i read a few good ones here on Steemit and some here and there on Reddit.

The crow looks decent enough i guess, idk if i would eat it sober or at least they would have to guarantee me its a healthy crow and not one hunted out in the wild i guess? maybe.

The sad part is that once I read the headline, it seemed to fit right in with the whole polarization thing. In a way, I'm glad it was a joke. I think the day also being Easter and a Sunday cut down on the number of jokes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64