You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today We Give Thanks..

in #funny6 years ago

The top two food groups on my chart! :D

We used a swamp cooler when I was a kid, then they added Lake Keystone, and the humidity went up too high for them to work any more.

Ironic that the new land is out by the same lake....

Sort:  

sir smithlabs you're going to have to translate this one for me. what is a swamp cooler and what is Lake Keystone and and what same lake, Keystone, that's where you're moving right? but that's the only thing I understood about that comment. I know it's me not you.

A swamp cooler is an Evaporative cooler that pulls air through excelsior pads with water running over them. The evaporation lowers the air temperature in the house. When the hydroelectric plant was built in the 1960s the local humidity climbed, and the swamp coolers, stopped cooling, since evaporation stopped..

Keystone lake is 20 miles west of Tulsa, it is v shaped with the North leg 50 miles long, and the south about 40 miles long. The new land is on the north bank of the north leg, about half way up. :D

oh ok.. when I was a kid we had a window unit that we called a water cooler, I think it had a garden hose attached to it, does that sound right, and it had a drum fan. wasn't real cold but it was comfortable.

the lake property is going to be great! does it have Asian Carp yet? lol

You nailed it! That was a swamp cooler. I put tadpoles in it once, but my Mom was NOT happy when a frog got into the house.... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63091.31
ETH 3172.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81