Until Dawn - The scariest game I was willing to play

in #game7 years ago

I don't like horrors. I really don't. When it is too much for me, I cover my eyes with my legs and just listen, or I say that I want the movie to turn off. This applies even to games.

I had never played a scary game until this year when all of my surroundings recommend Until Dawn. It's an adventure. I like adventure games, so I was convinced and start playing it during the day. There was no way playing it at night.

What's the game about?


Imagine a party with your seven friends in the creepy solitary house of one of them somewhere in the mountains where you can only get by the cable car and where about a year ago, his two sisters disappeared. Well, it is ideal. I wouldn't just go there for nothing. Already in the opening scene, the whole environment looked quite unfriendly when something chases you, and you don't know what.

But okay, I've overwhelmed this irrational thing and played on.

Your goal is to survive Until Dawn.


Most of the time you just walk/run around and wait for something to scare you. Well, it was not so scary, but sometimes I thought I didn't want to play it anymore. In fact, some psychopath has lived in the house, and when you walk outdoors, you are always chased by something, and sometimes you bumped into dead pig's head.

Butterfly effect


The whole game is based on the butterfly effect so you must think about the slightest little thing before you choose some option. Sometimes this is complicated by a short time limit and if you do not get it in time? Oops.

Thanks to that, the game has lots of endings, so it doesn't mean that when you read this article, and then you play the game you will have the same ending like me.

At the same time, you can collect totems during the game (probably there was some Indian burial nearby) that will show you the future. In my case, no one of them was fulfilled.

Characters


In the beginning, you are gradually acquainted with the characters you will be playing during ten relatively short chapters. Each chapter ends in the office of a strange psychiatrist who is testing you.

Now I will introduce you the main heroes from my point of view, including their destiny.


Josh


This creepy house belongs to his family, and he is the brother of those two missing sisters. It was his idea to organize a party at a crime scene in honor of his sisters. He was a little strange to me. I didn't have any opinion about him until half the game.

His death was really bad. Something's squeezed his head. But I wasn't sorry for him.


Sam


Best friend of one of the deceased sisters. She was the best female character for me. She was reasonable and quite courageous. In the end, she did a mistake, and a man died because of it (Ok, it was not her mistake at all. I played her.).


Mike


My favorite male character. Besides being the most handsome of all the boys, he was also quite brave, because what he experienced during the game, would break others.

He could survive. But I didn't realize that when I got the chance to save him, he would stay in one place like an asshole and burn. I was sorry for him.


Emily


Mike's ex-girlfriend. Well, I didn't like her. She was conflicting a lot. Just the tone when she spoke! Arggh.... But I let her live. Again, I'm not so stupid to kill someone just because I don't like him.


Matt


Emily's current boyfriend. I would call him a kind idiot. I do not know why he's with Emily. He was a pretty good character.


Ashley


A fragile girl who believes in spirits and who has a crush on Chris. Her sensitive soul has a tough time in the game, so the man wanted her death just to give rest to her soul. But she survived.


Chris


I also liked this one, except for some of the pranks he prepared for his friends. I would kill him for that. He was pretty cool.

He died because he failed to return to the house in time.


Jessica


Mike's current girlfriend. Another girl I didn't like because I'm a girl. Just a stupid blonde who only thinks about sex. Mike was with her just because of her pretty face and body I think.

I thought she had killed herself by fall.


The game has an incredibly gloomy atmosphere, and you except some bugaboo around every corner, but it was not that terrible in the final. I'd like to play the game again just to get platinum trophy and discover other butterfly effects and endings.

Finally, I must say that I was trying to play the game wisely. Outside, I chose safer ways and tried to act reasonably in the dialogues and decisions in the light of the circumstances. Despite that, four people died. But I'm still better than a friend to whom survived only one character.

And how about you? Can the game be finished without death?



Sources:

Image 1
Image 2
Character images
Deceased stamp

💙 Thank you for reading! 💙

May the seed be with you! :D












Sort:  

I bought this game when it first came out. I didn't even really want it. I just had finished up all the games sitting on my shelf. What a surprise it was. Such a fantastic game. It's sort of like a telltale game but only way better. Better graphics, Better sound, better gameplay, and some top notch acting chops. Brett Dalton is awesome as Mike, he's the guy who played Ward/Hive on Marvel's Agents of Shield. And Hayden Panettiere was equally great as Sam, she played the cheerleader in that TV show Heroes a few years back. I only wish the Telltale games could be this good!

From Telltale games I played I liked the most Tales from the Borderlands, because it was fun at least. Game of Thrones are boring. Until Dawn is definitely better in all categories, because there is also more action.
Comparable is Life is Strange which is also definitely worth of shot. I cried a lot in some episodes. If you haven't played it yet, you definitely should :)

Ya the Telltale Games are definitely more boring than Until Dawn and Life is Strange that's for sure. Oddly enough I just did a review for the first episode of the Life is Strange prequel. I really like that game world and the characters. Can't wait to see what comes next!

We will wait until all episodes are released to play it all at once :)

I got this game for free from playstation plus and it is a great game.
I always loved these choose your actions type game.
I fell in love with them since i played Heavy Rain. I also got the other game by them which is Beyond Two souls. Stoked for the next one that is coming out.
Are you going to play the VR game "Impatient" talks about what happened in the sanatorium in until Dawn.
Give the trailer a watch if you havent! Cheers and great article :)

So do I. Respectively, my boyfriend...
I never played those games, but it is good to hear about them. I would try them once.
I watched the trailer of The Inpatient, and I am very curious what happened in the sanatorium, but we don't have VR yet. But if we do I would definitely shit myself during this game :D
Thank you very much! :)

Haha They are something else compared to your usual horror or any type of video game... gets you attached to the characters unlike other games.
I dont have a VR headset either but i was thinking about buying one thru a firm and paying it monthly. lol

Great review. Your post was submitted to Curie by one of the curator. Please use upvote service eg. Randowhale, Minnowsupport etc for your post after 24 hours since Curie will reject any post above $1SBD. Good Luck

Wow, thank you very much! I didn't expect that. I am honored :))

Great article! Now I am planning to try the game myself :D Hope it is not too expensive. The best part seems to be that the storyline changes - gives some extra hours to the game.

Thank you! We got the game for free on PlayStation Plus, so I don't know how much it costs. It isn't a new game so price may be fair :) And exactly, there are so many options! I'm curious about another ending. I must play the game again.

I enjoyed this game a lot as a fan of horror movies. Cant wait for the next project which is already in the making by this studio.

Well, I am not a fan of horror movies, but I enjoyed it as well. Is that The Inpatient game for VR mentioned by @markmorbidity? Too bad that we don't have VR yet, but I think it would be too scary for me :D

Until Dawn is a damn near perfect game, which just breathes horror on every level.

Exactly! It was always like: "I don't want to go there! I don't want to play this game anymore!" :D

Nice post , have been looking for a great review,

This kind of like Saw right?

Yes, in some chapters there are some tough situations which can remind you of Saw :)

First time to learn about this game and sounds exciting for me.

Wow, you must definitely try it! There are so many options! I never played adventure game like that where everything can affect the story and ending. :)

I love this kind of games where with your decision, you change the course oh the game,i saw a lot of gamers playing this videogame and i really would like to play, especially for see a different ending, love you❤

Exactly I really like those games also! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75