Have I become a lazy gamer?

in #games5 years ago

I find myself away from my powerful gaming PC and PS4 (only recently acquired) and at night the only thing I can play is my Nintendo 3DS. When I was back in the states a child of my friend game me Ocarina of Time and I have such fond memories of this game that I was super-stoked to have a go at it again.


source

It is kinda neat that the game is in 3d (sorta) but it kind of messes with my eyes in a way that I don't like so for the most part I turn that feature off and just play the game. It is just the same as I remember the game but to be fair I don't remember a great deal because it was such a long time ago that this game was first released (1998.)


source

The graphics have been sharpened / improved since the original game and well, after 15 years they should be. The gameplay for the most part is exactly the same so why is this game giving me so much trouble? I think I know why.

Over the years I think that I, and many other gamers have become a bit lazy. Even very early on in the game it is necessary to literally not leave any stone unturned in order to progress to the next section. This is fine in a dungeon, but there are many instances, even in towns where there is no combat, where you have to walk into some unmarked house and talk to some random NPC before you are capable of advancing to the next stage. Sometimes it isn't terribly evident which direction the next stage is even in.

This posed very little in the way of frustration when I played this on N64 20 years ago, but these days I am completely uninterested in walking around and talking to each of the 20 or so NPC's, most of which just spout some irrelevant nonsense to me, in order to talk to the one person who gives me some item that will get me past the next section.


source
talk to EVERYONE

I haven't even made it very far into the game and I am already finding myself switching the game off on a regular basis because I honestly don't have the patience to do this "busywork."

Ocarina of time is still rated as one of the best games ever made and I agree with this notion. It was truly the greatest thing ever when it was first released. However, i think that the mindset of gamers has changed an awful lot since 1998 because I can't be alone in really not enjoying the constant running around only to find out that there was a guy hiding in the corner of a shop that you overlooked because he seemed insignificant that you needed to talk to in order to gain access to the nearby temple.


source

I haven't even come close to entering the Water Temple yet, and if you have never heard of this place it is still regarded as the most challenging level to have ever been created in the Zelda universe. It wouldn't surprise me at all if I decide to stop playing the game completely at that point.

Am I alone here? Because I have to be honest; i am not really enjoying playing Ocarina of Time the second time around because of this. It isn't fun for me to be stuck in an area with no real clues and this really didn't bother me back in the 90's. Maybe I'm just getting old and should get the cards out and start playing bridge or solitaire :P

Sort:  

I had a similar experience not too long ago with Morrowind.

I think it's easy to overlook how much better games in general have become. Yes, there are a lot of flops, but our standard has risen in part because of old masterpieces.

A lot of early exploration was novelty. We had never before been in such expansive game worlds. Now that's trivial, and you need more to keep stuff going. As a result, many modern games have made sure to keep complex play mechanics going during exploration segments, which was not universal in earlier games.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't played zelda because I was a little kid 15 years ago when it took fame. and yes I play games tournaments on Mogul and I guess the harder the game the less the interest it incorporates.
Keep playing!

I am facing the same problem

But even modern games cant spike my intrest as much as the old ones but the old ones are often missing some quality of life changes I am now used to.

For example Resident Evil 1. I would never play a game with those tank controls again but it did not bother me back then. The remakes dont catch me this much either.

The water temple rings a bell alright . If memory serves me correct there was an entrance behind a waterfall? I’m a Zelda fan since I had to lead Blind Pew into direct sunlight in a temple during my SNES days

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sometimes the old adage that "you can't go home again" is true. Sometimes it's best to keep those good memories pure instead of partially over-writing them with an attempt to play them now that we're older, less patient, with reflexes not as finely-tuned as they used to be.

Don't worry, mate, you're among friends. I hear you, loud and clear.

very true statement there. When revisiting almost anything be it movies, tv-shows, or even places I have fond memories of (such as the island I am on right now) the "going home" is not as good as it was the first time.

My dear @gooddream, I think that's already an outdated game, it's been 20 years since you played it with furor, hahaha! At that time it was the newest thing. Today's games are more interactive and with a wonderful interface, which allows you to be more animated and active. Or will it be that over the years you have to pull out the cards and play solitaire?

I never played this game, but I have been toying around with buying the remastered version of Final Fantasy VII. I just don't know if I can do it though. It was so fun the first time through and as you said, I might not have the patience for it now. Earning the golden chocobo via the races was tedious back then, let alone now that I am older and less patient!

I would love a remastered ff7. I'm gonna buy that for sure. Sephiroth4eva

Posted using Partiko Android

Check the Steam store if you have access to it there. I think that is where I saw it.

I guess it's time to bust out the old minesweeper, perhaps even cookie clicker. You god damn old man.

After getting used to how easy games these days give you hints to the next objective, it can be hard returning to games where objective isn't as clear. Also, maybe you don't have time anymore... When I was younger I would spend 10 hours a day gaming (summer vacation,) now I'll be lucky if I have time for 3 hours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05