ADSactly Game Review - Until Dawn

in #gaming6 years ago

Until Dawn Cover.jpg

Line Break.png

Until Dawn

What do you get, when you take almost every horror movie cliche, a remote dark and creepy cabin in the woods with eight attractive stereotypes and then mix it all up into a video game?

Until Dawn is the epitome of the cheesy horror genre, it's like the characters in the story have never in their lives seen a horror movie, the concept of fear or making rational decisions based on their surroundings just never seems to factor in. This unfortunately is not indicative to only this game but pretty much all horror movies I have ever seen. If I happen to be invited to a friend's cabin in the woods that is only accessible by a dodgy cable car, and a series of scary spooky things happen on the way to said cabin, you can bet I'm going to be as cautious as a squirrel hiding his nuts. I wouldn't be taking a bath alone wearing headphones in a creepy house where the lights aren't working, or wondering off on my own to go and investigate what that weird sound was. I don't even think I would have gotten out of the car, just because of the eerie surroundings and strange shadows between the trees. I basically would have told my friends, cheers guys hope you enjoy dying and drove home.

We tend to disregard these logical decisions when watching scary movies, because I think deep down inside we love the thrill of getting a fright and feeling uneasy. There is just something really exhilarating about getting scared, you know it's coming when the music starts to build, try to look away, and suddenly out of no where an animal jumps out. I would say it almost an art form to properly scare the audience, and this game definitely got that right.

Line Break.png

Our story begins with a group of friends who are having a party at their annual winter getaway.

The Washington lodge on Blackwood Mountain, the family holiday home of Josh and his two sisters, Beth and Hannah. The group of friends who are all more or less high school seniors decide to play a rather mean prank on one of the two sisters, Hannah, only five of the group are in on the prank. This then results in Hannah running away out into the dark cold forest and her sister Beth chasing after her. The two get lost and then are pursued by a fire-spewing individual who corners them on a cliff, where they both fall.

One year later Josh invites everyone back to the mountain lodge to mark the anniversary of the mysterious disappearance of his two sisters. Things get pretty creepy from the moment each of the friends arrive. They get split up due to a multitude of factors like doors being locked, pathways being blocked. There is also a thick tension in the air between the friends as some of them are now dating others in the group, and there seems to be an awful lot of secrets. When they all eventually reach the cabin, matters only get worse, the power is out and the keys to get in go missing. When they finally get inside the lodge they realize that that it is not only them there, someone or something is lurking about with ill intentions.

Until Dawn 11.jpg
source

Until Dawn 07.jpg
source

Line Break.png

Until Dawn’s game world is small, but the developers have cleverly made it as entertaining and hostile as possible.

The environment and landscape is beautiful and the dark snowy cold adds a great element of fear and isolation. The camera angles while playing really make you feel alone and do a great job at encouraging the feeling that you’re always being watched through the dark woods and with the use of tracking shots.

The game was designed to be played a few times over and the game mechanics utilizes an in-game system called the butterfly effect, where every decision made by a character can have either positive or negative effects on the game. It is based on the ancient Chinese philosophy that a butterfly flapping it's wings on one side of the world could have disastrous effect on the other side. During the game you play with each one of the characters and your actions have consequences, and depending on the choices you make, that also determines what path you follow and how the game ends.

Until Dawn 06.jpg
source

Until Dawn 12.jpg
source

Line Break.png


"Before we begin, there are a few things I need to make sure you understand. You see, no one can change what happened last year. The past is beyond our control. You have to accept this in order to move forward. But there is freedom in this revelation. Everything you do, every decision you make from now on, will open doors to the future. I want you to remember this. I want you to remember this as you play your game. Every single choice will affect your fate, and the fate of those around you. So, you have committed to commence with this 'game'. This is significant. And I want to help you see it through. Sometimes... Sometimes these things can be a little scary... even terrifying... but I am here to make sure that no matter how upsetting things may get, you will always find a way to work through it. Alright. We will start with a simple exercise. Could you please pick up the card? And I want you to look at the picture on the other side, and tell me what you feel about it. It is essential that you answer honestly in order to get the most out of this experience." - Dr. Hill


Until Dawn 03.jpg
source

Line Break.png

The game is fun to play and at times the typical cliche horror situations end up being far more funnier than they are scary, I laughed far more than I flinched.

Until Dawn does have some really great scary moments which caught me completely off guard and ended with me swearing just from the fright. The play through will take you about ten hours which is not too long but you can then obviously do it again, making complete different choices which will almost result in a utterly different story. Some of the really great parts of the game are where you need to make split second decisions, which require some nimble fingers to follow the control prompts. I started the game with the motion controls but this became more of a hindrance, so I would recommend sticking to the standard layout.

It was a a fun game to play, although I didn't bother to play it through for a second time. I don't think I would recommend any of you buy it, unless you give it a test run first or you find it in a bargain bin. Then again if you are a horror fan you might enjoy this kind of game. The cast was great and the dialog felt realistic. I'm sure you will recognize most of the real life actors who feature in the game. Playing with the Hayden Panettiere's character in a towel for most of her scenes was pretty funny. Save the cheerleader, save the world.

Until Dawn 08.jpg
source

Until Dawn 09.jpg
source

Until Dawn is a horror adventure video game developed by people at Supermassive Games, don't worry I haven't heard of them either.

They developed LittleBigPlanet as well as LittleBigPlanet 2 and a few other games that I have never heard of. This game is unfortunately only available on PlayStation and was originally released for PS3 in 2014, but was then released in 2015 on the PlayStation 4. Hopefully if you are a PS Plus subscriber you picked it up a few months back.

I give Until Dawn a rating of 5/10

Until Dawn 10.jpg
source

In case you missed it, here is the previous game review

Bad Feeling Tag.png

Thanks for popping in, hope you liked the post. Please leave me your thoughts and or opinions in the comments below, have a beautiful day.

Until Dawn 01.gif

Line Break.png

untilnexttime 2.png

Line Break.png

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

Game review for ADSactly by MorkRock

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not
necessarily reflect the official policy or position of ADSactly

✯ ✯ ✯

FINAL-LOGO smallest.png


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

Witness proposal is here:

Witness Proposal
Go To Steem Witness Page

In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

adsactly.gif

Thank You

Sort:  

This sounds like a game that my son would like. He is a big horror buff, One of his favourite games is the Friday the 13th game where he can be Jason or even an unsuspecting victim. I always find these games interesting form a storyline perspective. I find it more fun when there are a large variety of options for the character to choose from. Sometimes it seems that these games are set up for just all out carnage and the story get lost in the slasher mentality that evolves. Can you switch up the options and play form the perspective of the killer? It has been so long since I have played a game like this. I wish I could find more time to kill, where on earth does my kid find it. LOL

Well I should have mentioned that in the pos, you don’t get to play as the killer, however you do make decisions with each of the characters you play with. Those decisions can either save or get your buddies in the game killed.

Looks great! Can't wait to play it out!!

This game has a crazy atmosphere worthy of the best slashers on TV. All those who loved heavy rain and beyond to soul will be to the angel. As well as movie lovers and horror games. Even my girlfriend is immersed in the game and it's too funny to see her reaction to scary moments with the ps camera. I advise all and especially pro M who have no game of this kind. Graphically I am filled, the images are beautiful and I too kiff the impact of our action. The characters' lives depend on our choices and there are many ends to our reach. In short, great art

Thanks for the reminder of Heavy Rain, I loved that game gonna play it this week and write a post on that next. Yeah it’s a really easy game to play no need for insane button mashing, thank for the comments buddy.

I like the steemit platform. I like to learn a lot from steemit and learn new things. I get a lot of new ideas and I get a lot of ideas about it as I posted a game. I saw this game and I will play it by downloading. I like the platform much like your post. Thanks for sharing...

Wow this is so amazing!!!!. Yes I prefer the current of the game.I find it more interesting compared to earlier versions

Yeah I think steemit has brought so many new people to the idea of blogging and sharing their experiences with the community!

I really want this game now, the graphics looks so cool and it's like a cross between city simulations and Civilisation. @adsactly did a review on this last week maybe and now after seeing your video I want it even more!

Not really anything like Civilization, this in more like Heavy Rain. It’s worth a go, sure you would enjoy it.

Incredible game, I would say many times better than the previous ones. The developers have worked hard on graphics, style. Beautiful scenery, better than in previous parts. And in the game a little less shooting, which makes the game only better. In the previous parts of the shooting was at every step and was very exhausting. Now on first place the plot! The game produced a huge number of positive emotions and experiences.

I should cry actually, I've not played uncharted and while reading through your review it seems like something I love. A game with a balance between story line and real life stories of the characters. I love games that let you get into the personal lives of their characters.

Hope Steem moons soon because I need to get me a ps4. I've been playing on PC so I know what am missing don't tell me.

Nice game review. How long did it take you to finish the game?

Well, my crappy PC can't run Crysis, thank you very much lol. But in all seriousness this review is top notch the one that Crysis really deserves after all these years, a lot of FPS games wouldn't be were they are with out this game, amazing review keep the good work coming!

Unfortunately this game is only released for PS only, if only this game developed and released for smartphones, more will play it ..
Hopefully this game will be released for smartphones, not now smartphone users very much ..
May also include i will play this game ..
Thanks for sharing @adsactly

very good post @adsactly, I think, everyone in this world is very fond of the game, and even if they are already addicted in playing games, even though they have a lot of busyness, will definitely spend a little of their time to play the game, because I think the game has benefits for us, if we are stressed and have many problems in our work, with us playing the game, I am sure, our mind is more calm. I also love playing games, every day I always put a little time to play the game.

In my opinion, the game of horror is also very challenging. I think, the game you share is very good, I've seen the video you share, I like. Because I really like the game that has many challenges, now I often play the game Survival, this game in my opinion is very challenging and has many challenges, this is really cool. I will try to find this game, I am very curious about the game you share.

Thanks for sharing @adsactly, and hope you have a wonderful day. Greetings to you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85