You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bringing it Back from the DEAD!.. PC Tech - Part 21 - Graphics Card Rescue edition.

in #gaming6 years ago

I have seen videos and post after post saying that mining doesn't hurt GPUs. I think you are the first that even hints that mining can be harmful to a GPU. I have been using nicehash at night while I sleep with my gaming computer. I have been starting nicehash then going to bed. After just a few days of doing that when not mining my GTX 1060 3gb is running hotter in passive mode. I have to completely restart my computer before I try to play doom or I will get about 30 sec into the game and get kicked out.

Sort:  

mining does kill GPU's. most vendors will not give any warranty if they suspect its been used for mining. the amount of heat that they pump out is intense and can anneal the copper heatsink to the point where it can warp and discoulour. just like my old one. a good idea is get a can of compressed air and clean out the heatsink on your 1060, it should make it more efficient. if you still have trouble. head on over to our Discord and someone should be able to help you out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67653.09
ETH 3789.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50