Top 50 Role Playing Games from RPG Codex

in #gaming6 years ago

codex.png

RPG Codex is one of the best internet sources about quality RPG gaming, they will give an honest and at times brutal judgements on every new RPG. They are every developer's worst nightmare, or if they created a good game it can be one of the most uplifting experiences for the devs if they were praised by the RPG Codex community.

When a site like that creates a top 50 list of the best Role Play Games ever you need to trust the list and quickly try to find any one of those games if you missed them.

list.jpg

As a harcore RPG player I played most of the games from the list and I definitely recommend to try any of those games, perhaps skip only those that are released before 1995, those do not age well.

Also another note Witcher 3 is not included because this list was created few years ago, but today it is as legit as ever.

Do you agree with this list and how many games from top 10 you never played?

Sort:  

I agree on this list for the most part, with one exception. Why isn't the first KOTOR game higher up on here? I personally enjoyed KOTOR II quite a bit and love it, but it has a very meh ending since it was so rushed and never quite finished. I would definitely only place it maybe 2-4 spots ahead of KOTOR I. Besides that little gripe, everything else is pretty solid though!

Generally people from codex like the 2nd one better because it has that darker and more mature tone. You can also notice Arcanum and Bloodlines are in top 10, both games had that unfinished feel about them, but in terms of overall quality, storytelling and gameplay they ended up on top. It depends if the story and setting can hold the game together people tend to forgive that unfinished part.

I guess. As much as I loved the second game the ending/endings was a big let down and I wouldn't have left it so far ahead of the first KOTOR game at all. Though I suppose with the mod they put out it at least made the ending more tolerant. Either way, this is just my opinion. I can understand why it's higher than the first KOTOR game at the very least :P

Good list. I didn't play a lot of those old games but I believe they're good. Before, you didn't have good graphics so you had to have a good story.

For me, Morrowind is No 1. Morrowind is in my heart since the day I played it, so it is one ofcthe best rpgs that I played. Lately, I played Divinity 2, and I was just left amazed how game is good...

I am now streaming the Witcher 3 series. The game looks so good and I've been told that the story is something special... I'm eager to find out :)

Morrowind was one of those games that had the best looking water surfaces at the time. I used to just walk the shorelines to admire the view. Top notch atmosphere rarely experienced after.

Witcher 3 is definitely in the top of modern RPGs, you will love it. Also we need a Witcher movie :)

Can't believe it, I was talking with my friend 2 days ago about the Witcher movie :)) That could be a brutally good movie..

But Morrowind and that crazy looking graphics got me feeling scared a lot while playing it. It gave me some crazy feelings along and that's why I love it...

Fck now you got me get up outta bed and go buy something to eat so I can set up my stream and play the Witcher :) ps I don't mind haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80