You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Kantai Collection' vs. 'Azur Lane' - Video Game Review

in #gaming6 years ago

I would like to point out a critical flaw in the representation of Azur Lane's simplified gameplay.

First, "12 Good ships" will suck all of your oil dry in only a few deployments, preventing you from farming anything productively (which you will need to do if you want the best ships anyway) You can build an effective farming vanguard for 3-6 oil per deploy, while letting you grind other ships alongside them for cheap farming/exp gains. You really only need 6 good ships, to raise your ranks in "PvP" and farm merit.

Second, while never needing to use specific ships and just stacking a ton of heavy crusers and carriers may let you breeze through the normal mode missions, you will never have the blueprints you need to Retrofit (another powerup) to let ships reach their full potential. Hard mode maps have specific requirements for deployment (I was bummed when I hit 4-1 Hard and didn't have two good battleships to clear those hard stages)

Permadeath may be a thing that gives rare ships more importance in Kancolle (and I completely understand that appeal). Just thought I'd point out there are some more subtle bits of strategy in Azur Lane. I see why people would play kancolle, but I've grown very fond of Azur Lane since for me, I can autistically farm things very effectively for low oil cost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70820.99
ETH 3797.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46