'Kantai Collection' vs. 'Azur Lane' - Video Game Review

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

image.png

One of the most interesting fascinations of otaku culture is its obsession with anthropomorphized objects. There have been countless examples of this by this point. Hetalia's personification of countries, Microsoft's operating system anime girls, 4chan's infamous Ebola-chan, or even a dakimakura pillow. One of my personal favorites has always been the anthropomorphized naval warships of "Kantai Collection".

I did notice "Azur Lane" as I was browsing the Qooapp game store about a year ago, but I didn't really think much about it at the time. Then one day, I looked at my facebook feed for the first time in ages and noticed an absolute flood of "Azur Lane" fanart, almost at a volume reminiscent of "Kantai Collection's" own fandom. That was the moment I knew I needed to check the game out and see what's so special about it.

What is Kantai Collection?

image.png

"Kantai Collection" is a browser game (that later got a mobile app), where you play the role of an admiral, commanding a naval base of anthropomorphic warships to combat a fleet of corrupted, evil warships that are plotting a vague form of world destruction. The warships all have their own real-life counterparts, and take inspiration from in their equipment load-outs and personalities from said warships.

The game was a cultural phenomenon around the world, but especially so in Japan. In 2013, Twitter revealed that #艦これ (KanColle) was the most used hashtag in Japan, and "KanColle" doujinshi were the most prominent presence at the Summer 2015 Comiket. It's fairly safe to say that within the public subconscious, "KanColle" had claimed a stake on the anthro-warship territory.

What is Azur Lane?

image.png

Stop me if this sounds familiar at all. In this mobile game, you are the admiral of a naval base where you command anthropomorphic warship girls to fight corrupted, evil ships that are plotting some vague form of world destruction. The warships all have their own real-life counterparts, and take inspiration in their equipment load-outs and personalities from said warships.

Sounds a tad bit like "Kantai Collection", doesn't it? Mind you, I'm not going to say that "Azur Lane" is a copy of "KanColle". Its gameplay design is such an improvement over "Kancolle's" that I can hardly even call "KanColle" a game without breaking out in laughter. But there are also other differences that make Azur Lane far inferior.

Gameplay

Let's get this out of the way first, unless you get a huge rush of ecstasy when you lose money to a slot machine, there is no way you can call "KanColle's" gameplay better than "Azur Lane's". In "KanColle", when you enter a mission, your team of ship girls travels along a map of nodes in almost completely random directions.

image.png

Occasionally, your girls will meet enemy fleets and fight by watching them fire shells and torpedos towards almost random enemies and dealing a random amount of damage. Every facet of the game is bathed in a layer semi-controllable RNG. If you have two destroyers and a carrier, then you'll have a 20% chance of traveling east instead of going NORTH THIRTY TIMES IN A ROW...deep breathe Sorry 'bout that, I'm calm again.

image.png

Now, "Azur Lane's" gameplay is more akin to a traditional shoot 'em up game. You control a fleet of 6 ships. Three light ships (destroyers and cruisers), and three heavy ships (aircraft carriers and battleships). You directly control the three smaller ships, dodging bombing runs, torpedos, and enemy shells. Meanwhile, the three heavy ships can unleash devastating skills. It's actually fun and challenging as a game.

Everything Else

Now, you might wonder how this is even a competition if "Azur Lane" has gameplay that trounces "Kantai Collection's" gameplay so hard. Well, this is obviously going to be a very subjective thing, but it all comes down to the way the game treats the ship girls.

The Saddest Moment of My Life

I remember when I got my first submarine in "Kantai Collection". Submarines are really rare ships that almost never drop as combat rewards, and appear from construction even less often, so my first one was incredibly special to me. And that love I felt for that submarine made it even worse when the game took it away from me. I was grinding late at night while I was studying, so I wasn't paying the game too much attention, I didn't notice my submarine was in critical condition and I advanced forward anyway. She sank that night...when ships sink in "Kancolle", they don't come back. I was in a depressed state for a month after that.

Appreciation For Value

image.png

Because the game makes it so crushingly hard to get rare ships, it makes me care for them so much more. This just isn't a factor in "Azur Lane". The getting rare ships was a cakewalk, and there's no perma-death for them. Not that that even matters, since you'll only ever need 12 competent ships to do anything. In "KanColle", some quests specifically need 3 torpedo cruisers, others will require 5 destroyers, so you can't just power level your favorites and leave the rest to rot.

The result is that I just simply don't care about the ship girls in "Azur Lane". I felt no motivation to play the fun game as opposed to the game with stronger context. I really don't care if the story if either is pitiful, what I care about is role-playing as an admiral. And I can't say that "Azur Lane" does that better for me.

Conclusion

I'm going to stress that in the moment-to-moment gameplay, "Azur Lane" will be better for almost everyone. It's punchy, difficult, and just an ocean's worth of fun. But I just can't understand how "Azur Lane" has amassed such a huge fandom, or why people feel that drive to make fanart of its characters. Knowing that the ships can actually die is what makes "KanColle" doujinshi so memorable to me (This is my personal favorite, btw). And knowing how rewarding it is to get rare ships gets me attached to them even more. On a surface level, they are almost the same game but appeal in very different ways.

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Sounds like a great game (honestly my first time hearing this game) plus those girls are kind of cute XD

Seeing your screenshot, do they also support English language? Would love to give this one a try.

Submarines are really rare ships that almost never drop as combat rewards, and appear from construction even less often,

When ships sink in "Kancolle", they don't come back.

Awwwwwwwwwww

Kantai Collection does not have English support, but there are community extensions that can fix that.

Azur Lane also doesn't have an English app yet. The only way to play it is to download it through QooApp and hope that you can get through the thing by either interpreting the pictures, or knowing how to read Chinese (it's a Chinese game).

I just stumbled upon this one, but I have to be completely honest... I really loved this! This review makes me want to play the game and of course, to watch the anime itself. By the way, I loved the writing! I just noticed you're an excellent reviewer and writer yourself, so I will keep following your blog!

I appreciate the kind words, and I hope you enjoy KanColle or Azur Lane as much as I did.

I have seen the anime and saw a lot of fan arts (I even saved some because I love the designs) but never really get to know the mechanics of the game and I think that answers the question in my mind of why it is so popular, man losing a unit must really feel bad but that is in itself a unique selling point that ordinary games wouldn't dare to try. Imagine Fate/ GO pulling that stunt, that's nightmare lol.

Haha, yeah. I can only imagine losing my Illyasveil or Gilgamesh in FGO. Those were the only 5 stars I had back when I played on JP.

I should probably give it a try again because the reason I originally quit was that I had to keep looking up what the essence cards did and what skills everybody has. Maybe I'll like the game more in English

The NA server is about to celebrate its 1st year so this might be a good time to start and not to mention the summer event is coming up so things are about to heat up in ways more than one lol.

I would like to point out a critical flaw in the representation of Azur Lane's simplified gameplay.

First, "12 Good ships" will suck all of your oil dry in only a few deployments, preventing you from farming anything productively (which you will need to do if you want the best ships anyway) You can build an effective farming vanguard for 3-6 oil per deploy, while letting you grind other ships alongside them for cheap farming/exp gains. You really only need 6 good ships, to raise your ranks in "PvP" and farm merit.

Second, while never needing to use specific ships and just stacking a ton of heavy crusers and carriers may let you breeze through the normal mode missions, you will never have the blueprints you need to Retrofit (another powerup) to let ships reach their full potential. Hard mode maps have specific requirements for deployment (I was bummed when I hit 4-1 Hard and didn't have two good battleships to clear those hard stages)

Permadeath may be a thing that gives rare ships more importance in Kancolle (and I completely understand that appeal). Just thought I'd point out there are some more subtle bits of strategy in Azur Lane. I see why people would play kancolle, but I've grown very fond of Azur Lane since for me, I can autistically farm things very effectively for low oil cost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56