Game collecting 101: A basic guide to retro video game completeness

in #gaming7 years ago

Something every game collector needs to consider when they start is what the goal for their collection is. One of those considerations is what condition you want your games to be in. I don't mean if the game looks pristine or if its been run over by a dump truck, what this article is discussing is how complete the game is.

There are four basic categories that games fall under and I'll be discussing them from cheapest to most expensive.

Loose


The least expensive type of completeness is being completely non-complete. Loose refers to a game cartridge only, nothing else is included. For disc-based games, it means you're only getting the disc. For cart-based games, this is the most common way to find them since boxes (especially older cardboard boxes) were often discarded.

Boxed


When a game includes the cartridge or disc and the box, its considered 'boxed.' Petty straightforward. This also refers to disc based games that are missing the instruction manuals and inserts. Newer games that don't include any inserts or manuals won't ever fall into this category.

Complete or CIB

donkey-kong-original-nintendo-game-boy-complete-in-box-cib-g812-415fa0fb45e1214dd5b9a38e88751931.jpg
Games that include the cart or disc, the instruction manual and the box or case are considered 'complete.' There's some gray areas in this category, since some collectors consider a game complete with just the cart/box/manual while others expect everything from promotional inserts, posters and the original packing materials (for example, the plastic bag and styrofoam spacer in NES boxes).

The term 'CIB' is commonly used, but there's also some disagreement on what this means. Some call it 'complete in box', which could suggest it includes all of the inserts, while others refer to it as 'cart/instructions/box' and consider it complete with those three items. Personally, I fall into the category of considering the game complete with cart, box and manual.

Complete games often sell for at least double, if not multiple times the price of the loose cart. For example, Contra on the NES currently sells for $27 loose, but $79 complete.

Sealed


Sealed simply means that the game has never been opened. This is a controversial category, primarily because there's been a number of people who use shrink wrapping machines to re-seal games and put them up on eBay for insane prices. Mega Man on the NES sells for $50 loose, $200 complete and a whopping $2,500 new and sealed. These scammers know that anyone buying the games sealed will never open them, thus never discovering they've been ripped off.

If you plan to buy sealed games, there are certain things to look for, which I won't go into detail here. In short, there are ways to examine the seal to determine if its an original factory seal or if someone has sealed it recently.

Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

I hope this guide can be of help to game collectors who are new to the hobby. What do you collect? Do you focus on just one type of completeness in your collection? Let's discuss!

As always, resteems, upvotes and comments are appreciated

Sort:  

Nice small guide :) While I myself am not a collector because of the space requirements. I do love to see others collections!

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in today's "best of gaming"?

Absolutely! I love sharing information about retro collecting. Thank you.

Awesome guide! definitely reesteming. I prefer all my disc games complete and my cartridge games loose. what about you?

For disc-based games, I pretty much expect them to be complete. I'll make exceptions for games I pick up really cheap or if I buy a lot. I grabbed a copy of Haunting Ground for $30 because it was missing the manual and I'm glad I did.

For carts, I used to collect almost exclusively complete games. I started out with NES and passed on games that were cart-only. But today, I wish I'd bought everything because I likely passed on games that have increased 10x in value since the early 2000's. Today I have what I think is an impressive collection of complete NES games, but at the same time I regret ignoring great games because they didn't come in a box.

Today I rarely pick up complete games because they've gotten so absurdly expensive and have switched to loose carts. Thankfully, I was able to get most of the complete games I really wanted during my complete only phase.

looks like where on the same page lol. I hate when disk games are missing the box cover. Its a crime against humanity.

Wow that's crazy about buying sealed games. It's a very good point that if someone is willing to pay those prices for them then they are a serious collector and therefore won't be opening the box, there could be a paperweight in there for all they know, which is very sad.

I don't know how people have the will power to buy a game and not open it haha, I would have to buy 2 so I could use one and save the other.

Really interesting post.

I bought 2 copies of Xenoblade Chronicles on the Wii. One to play and one to keep sealed. Luckily, I was able to find a used copy so I didn't have to pay full price for two brand new ones.

This post has received a 3.53 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @retro-room.

Hey i Work in a video game store !!

And I collect video game !!

I will post a piece of my collection little by little !!

🎮

I cant wait to see it!

I will put articles on consoles that I have and I love the most then I will make articles on games in batch that I then posts a little more precise 🎮

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55