You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video - Winter Sowing - Plant Now Place Containers Outside For Spring Germination

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

I planted carrots after the New Year, in the dead of winter this year. They sprouted a month later. Think the slugs ate all the tender tips though.

I have a hard time protecting outdoor-sown seedlings from hungry small animals that will eat them. Can't blame them. I usually try to grow more than enough to share, and keep sowing more every week until they remain. Kind of a waste of seeds, but I have to work with the ecosystem I am a part of.

Sort:  

My method uses containers (gallon size water jugs) so the seedlings are protected. When they sprout in the Spring I then move them into my small greenhouse and of course bring them in at night if temps go below freezing. It's a neat plant and forget method until they sprout.

Once planted in the garden, for greens I built a protective wooden box that I put netting over. There's a picture of it in my introductory post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68321.15
ETH 3140.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69