Video - Winter Sowing - Plant Now Place Containers Outside For Spring Germination

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Winter sowing is a technique I have been using for several years.  It sounds unbelievable but it really does work.  You can plant cold hardy seeds now in containers, place them outside, and they will germinate when the weather warms.

This technique works well with lettuce, kale, cabbage, and similar cold hardy veggies.  It will also work for some flowers such as sunflowers.

Following is a video I made on this technique.  Thanks for visiting.


Sort:  

I planted carrots after the New Year, in the dead of winter this year. They sprouted a month later. Think the slugs ate all the tender tips though.

I have a hard time protecting outdoor-sown seedlings from hungry small animals that will eat them. Can't blame them. I usually try to grow more than enough to share, and keep sowing more every week until they remain. Kind of a waste of seeds, but I have to work with the ecosystem I am a part of.

My method uses containers (gallon size water jugs) so the seedlings are protected. When they sprout in the Spring I then move them into my small greenhouse and of course bring them in at night if temps go below freezing. It's a neat plant and forget method until they sprout.

Once planted in the garden, for greens I built a protective wooden box that I put netting over. There's a picture of it in my introductory post.

Congratulations @dansgardening! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

You've been visited by @thistle-rock from Homesteaders Co-op.

Awesome idea and great information, I am sure this will benefit a lot of gardeners! We certainly look forward to a follow up showing the results!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65