You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PERENNIAL ROSEMARY BUSHES!!! - I CAN'T WAIT!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

My father brought me a few cuttings of this monster from the front yard of my childhood home in the mountains of central California. 3 of them are doing well and I took cuttings from them and now have 4 small pieces growing. My goal is to get them to naturalize to our climate here. May take me a few years of work but I think I might just be able to pull it off.
IMG_20160320_173754861-1.jpg

Sort:  

That's really great. How long did it take to grow to this size?

It is technically 3 plants, 2 of which grew into the main mass, the other visible on right. They were all planted around 1980, so nearly 40 years old. They have gotten little supplemental water over the years aside from winter and rain.

Wow
That's a long time, and still standing

WOW! Very cool!

Rosemary will branch root. The reason the main mass is so big. The branches lay on the ground and then grow roots at nodes which actually increases the size of the plants as a whole. The main mass of plant is really that big of a root mass beneath it. Given a conducive environment these things can get huge in the southern tier states.

I worked at a nursery between Joshua Tree and Yucca Valley once and we would go take tip cuttings of the massive rosemary along the fence line. I would then trim the ends, dip them in rootone, and put them into 12x12 flats. We would end up with a 95%+ survival rate on the cuttings. These plants WANT to root.

LOL - Very cool! I just did that and was working on a post about it now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86