PERENNIAL ROSEMARY BUSHES!!! - I CAN'T WAIT!

in #gardening6 years ago

Moving farther south has given us some excellent opportunities in the garden!


@Grandpa-pepper and my mom are staying at the same resort that @vcelier and @naru-celier stayed at when they came to visit. I missed it last time, but I noticed something very interesting this time around.

A BIG, BIG ROSEMARY BUSH

The first time I ever saw a large Rosemary bush just growing out in the yard was when I lived in New Orleans. It was in a yard along the Mississippi River, and I'd pass by it every day on my walk to and from work. Apparently, we are far enough south to grow this plant in the yard too! Where I come from, it was always a potted plant that you had to overwinter in the house.

IMG_5717.JPG

Here, the @little-peppers provide some size perspective. Just check out how big this bush is compared to them! We've got at least one little Rosemary bush already at home, but I may need to put in a few more. Hopefully ours can do just as good or better!

Here are some of the tiny purple flowers. I can't remember seeing the potted ones up north flowering, but I may have just missed it, or not been around them at the right time. Free seeds are always beneficial, and flowers lead to seeds! I'd love to have some large Rosemary bushes on the homestead always available when we need them. How about you? Have you ever grown this plant? If so, is it potted, or out in the garden? Do you enjoy using it as a seasoning?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-one-big-rosemary-bush

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

My father brought me a few cuttings of this monster from the front yard of my childhood home in the mountains of central California. 3 of them are doing well and I took cuttings from them and now have 4 small pieces growing. My goal is to get them to naturalize to our climate here. May take me a few years of work but I think I might just be able to pull it off.
IMG_20160320_173754861-1.jpg

That's really great. How long did it take to grow to this size?

It is technically 3 plants, 2 of which grew into the main mass, the other visible on right. They were all planted around 1980, so nearly 40 years old. They have gotten little supplemental water over the years aside from winter and rain.

Wow
That's a long time, and still standing

WOW! Very cool!

Rosemary will branch root. The reason the main mass is so big. The branches lay on the ground and then grow roots at nodes which actually increases the size of the plants as a whole. The main mass of plant is really that big of a root mass beneath it. Given a conducive environment these things can get huge in the southern tier states.

I worked at a nursery between Joshua Tree and Yucca Valley once and we would go take tip cuttings of the massive rosemary along the fence line. I would then trim the ends, dip them in rootone, and put them into 12x12 flats. We would end up with a 95%+ survival rate on the cuttings. These plants WANT to root.

LOL - Very cool! I just did that and was working on a post about it now!

Beautiful kids. Mehn your children are all beautiful. You must be a proud dad! Congratulations. Thank God for giving you these beautiful kids. Extend my love to them sir...

@eurogee of @euronation community

We do thank God for these @little-peppers! Thanks man!

rosemary is awesome... pretty tough, no need for some extreme gardening action...haha

Lol besides your plantation I loved those kids :P

Oh....that is quite a large rosemary bush.
If the little peers weren't standing by it, I wouldn't have noticed.

Yeah, it's a big one!

Great family extend my greeting to grandpa and mum sir @papa-pepper

nice flowers I like it especially in front of the house because it can beautify our home

Used as spice. Keep in warm water, use in toxin throw

thanks a different info. I agree with your ideas @new.diak

Just getting to know about Rosemary bushes for the first time... @papa-pepper make one appreciate nature. Extend steemit warmest greeting to @grandpa-pepper, but thanks him special for me for giving us a wonderful man in the person of @papa-pepper

I love rosemary for a chicken dish..This is really nice @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94