You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Update: Early Seed Propagation in the Greenhouse

in #gardening5 years ago

I remember your post about making the seedboxes. I think I saved it, because it was so good. :)) I wish I had a greenhouse! I am going to have to live vicariously through all who are starting seeds and growing lots this year. Just can't do it and build additions too... So I am only starting Walla onions and a couple herbs and some flowers for the beds not messed up by construction.

Loved the cilantro photo, all that green! Still very white here, too much snow to see any garlic yet...

Sort:  

Thank you for the nice comment. You sound busy with construction projects! Yes we are ambitious with seeds this year, more than last year because we are both taking on more seed contracts with a local seed company. It becomes very obvious to us after being here 1 year now that we can do more the second year... it makes us crave to have a permanent garden space that we can pour love into year after year. But we are ever so grateful to have this garden space again this year. The greenhouse is very small but it is attached to the side of the straw bale house so it does pretty well to keep things green.. although our winters are also much milder than yours so that helps too :)

So cool you are pursuing seed contracts! Even a small greenhouse is better than NO greenhouse. :))

Thanks! Yeah it is the 2nd year I am doing seed contracts... more as a hobby at this point than a significant portion of my income, but I enjoy the work and learning and it might open options later. Yeah the greenhouse is a BIG plus! A solarium would be pretty slick too ;)

Some of the original plans I drew had a solarium, but it was discarded as we tried to stay in budget... Sigh...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86