Garden Update: Early Seed Propagation in the Greenhouse

in #gardening5 years ago

I recently seeded our solanaceae family plants in our greenhouse! This included tomatoes, peppers and eggplant. Our winter is quickly receding but we have to be wary of frost which can still hit us into late May / early June. And so I am getting our seeds in some soil so that they can germinate and get growing in the shelter of the greenhouse while we are waiting for frosts to subside.

I also seeded onions and leeks which are fairly cold hardy plants and will be transplanted out earlier, as soon as they are a good size.

We are using these beautiful handmade wooden flats for starting our seeds! We have come full circle because we moved to Oregon a year ago now, and one of the first things when we got here was build these wooden flats (instructions inside).

garden1.jpg

After shoveling the flats full of potting soil I tap them down on the ground several times to settle the soil. Using a piece of wood I can tamp down the soil and get a nice flat surface.

For the potting soil I am purchasing locally made organic compost (60% compost / 40% organic manure) and mixing roughly 10% sand. This works really well for seedlings. One step I skipped this time was sifting the soil through some hardware cloth to get a finer, more even soil.

garden3.jpg

To sow the seeds I make little furrows, like a mini row in a garden bed and drop the seeds in. Then pinch the soil over them and tap it down so that there is good soil contact.

garden4.jpg

Its nice to step back and admire my work. And then look over my shoulder and appreciate the onions and cilantro that were planted at the end of last fall in the greenhouse. They are really starting to pick up in their growth now that the days are getting longer. We are enjoying lots of cilantro and some green onions from time to time. It will be nice to have early onions this spring, especially considering we are down to our last 5 or 6 onions from last year.

garden5.jpg

Down the line a flat of lettuce I had seeded a few weeks prior is coming up nicely! I didn't use the furrow method for the lettuce; I scattered them around evenly and covered them with a thin layer of soil.

garden6.jpg

Outside the garlic is coming up!! We just planted the garlic in January, luckily there wasn't snow on the ground and we got it in just in time. The week after planting the garlic it started snowing and we had snow on the ground until just recently.

I have a good feeling about this season :)

garden2.jpg




coopbadgevendor.png

Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community


ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


image.png

#tribesteemup | @tribesteemup | The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

Sort:  

So nice to see all this energy given to seeds and propogating life & health. Funnily enough I am sitting here on the Burmese border having a cold beer with a wicked curry, planning a post about the seed beds my indigenous Karen colleague has improvised. Stay tuned!! Sending a little green goddess "whisper-kiss" to help your little seeds along.

Thank you @artemislives :) Beer and curry!! Oh that sounds delicious! I am looking forward to your seed beds post.. thanks for the heads up. I am sure these seeds are enjoy the love you sent over.. thanks for those good vibes. Right back at you :)

I remember your post about making the seedboxes. I think I saved it, because it was so good. :)) I wish I had a greenhouse! I am going to have to live vicariously through all who are starting seeds and growing lots this year. Just can't do it and build additions too... So I am only starting Walla onions and a couple herbs and some flowers for the beds not messed up by construction.

Loved the cilantro photo, all that green! Still very white here, too much snow to see any garlic yet...

Thank you for the nice comment. You sound busy with construction projects! Yes we are ambitious with seeds this year, more than last year because we are both taking on more seed contracts with a local seed company. It becomes very obvious to us after being here 1 year now that we can do more the second year... it makes us crave to have a permanent garden space that we can pour love into year after year. But we are ever so grateful to have this garden space again this year. The greenhouse is very small but it is attached to the side of the straw bale house so it does pretty well to keep things green.. although our winters are also much milder than yours so that helps too :)

So cool you are pursuing seed contracts! Even a small greenhouse is better than NO greenhouse. :))

Thanks! Yeah it is the 2nd year I am doing seed contracts... more as a hobby at this point than a significant portion of my income, but I enjoy the work and learning and it might open options later. Yeah the greenhouse is a BIG plus! A solarium would be pretty slick too ;)

Some of the original plans I drew had a solarium, but it was discarded as we tried to stay in budget... Sigh...

That looks like such a lovely greenhouse, and you have so much going on already!

I have no heat in my greenhouse, and it is basically a storage facility and not used for actually growing, because it is unheated. I made the mistake one April of taking all of my seedlings out to the greenhouse, at the request of my husband, only to have them all frozen the next day. 😕

I don't have to wish you much success... you are already on that path!

Oooh too bad for those frozen plants!! This greenhouse is attached to the side of the house so it helps with some extra insulation. Some of the less hardier plants that were closer to the window side of the greenhouse did freeze or get frost burned, but further in it is more protected. Onions and cilantro and cold weather crops really thrive in there. Thanks @thistle-rock :)

Our temps have been so extreme and the snow pack so deep we have not gotten a chance to get our greenhouse going yet.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like you have extra time to enjoy hot cocoa in the meantime :P Good luck with your greenhouse/garden planning for the upcoming season!

Congratulations @sagescrub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93