Sort:  

Can't figure out how to prune them or how to dispose of pruned material?
Yes they are hardy but definitely not "bullet proof" here in Brisbane. They are still prone to Blackspot and aphids constantly chew at the fresh growth. Regular pruning of infested or damaged material usually keeps them healthy but I do have to resort to chemical control at times.

Mine survived 10 years of neglect in very little soil and were practically smothered by the jasmine. They do get plenty aphids, which I spray occasionally and black spot at this colder time of year if it rains.

I didn't prune them too heavily last year because they were in poor condition with long, spindly stems and I had disturbed the roots too but I intend to prune them right back in July because I think that they could withstand it now. I noticed that they made long, massive stems this year, almost as if they prefer to be climbers. Could I train them along the fence or would this be bad for their health?

I would treat them the same way if they were mine but these fancy formal gardens I work in expect healthy pest and disease free Roses haha.

You could train them to grow along a fence but definitely wouldn't be the best for their health. Where I live we prune them hard in winter.
The main thing I think with Roses is airflow......they hate high humidity!

I'll bear that in mind, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89