Sort:  

I helped make kimchi once and it was really hard work, but it was great to eat it when it had fermented. Your garden is doing great. Maybe a compromise with chemicals would be to just use less than what other people use. I can imagine that the bugs love cabbages. I'm sure you could find a natural solution, but it would probably be a lot of work and might not do the best job.

Kimchi making is good fun once a year. I wouldn't want it to be my full time job.
The local farmers have been telling me that I'm either feeding the bugs or using chemicals. It was probably sprayed last year before I took over and if they spray, I'm going to get residue. I'll use as little as possible and wait until the plants are large enough to survive.

Glad you've got your update ready in time, @abitcoinskeptic.

I understand all your arguments about spraying with the chemicals, but please first try to explore any other alternative. The soil is already poisoned enough.
I know your neighbours do it too, but if you can find a good alternative, you might be able to convince them to stop using chemicals too.

I can see you've been really busy. Removing all those tomato plants and planting (sowing?) all those cabbages must have been quite a job.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sorry to say this, but I think this year I'm going to cave in. From what I've gathered talking to the local experts, the alternative is to cover it with a fine mesh net and spray with soapy water after leaving it bare for a couple weeks to make sure all the leaf eating insects go elsewhere. This leaves me with cabbage leaves that are more intact but the plants are stunted.
don't have the mesh and the bugs have already arrived. It's just a shame considering I've done so well this year without using chemical sprays. In any case I'm not going to use an aerosol and I'm going to go with the friendliest one I can find.

Pulling out the tomato plants was a lot more work than planting the little cabbage plants.

A couple of years ago, I've bought a special net to cover the plants with, so no butterflies or anything else could come close. But I never used it. Not only do I like to look at my plants (which I wouldn't be able to do when I put the net over it), but I also completely forget that I have it until I see the first couple of caterpillars. And if they are already there, the net has no use anymore - it's too late already :0)

Have you made any tomatoe sauce? It's odd, over here during harvest season everything is so cheap gardening is barely worth it beyond fresh herbs and a hobby.
Maybe you can try planting turnips near your nappa cabbage. Beetles prefer those leaves to cabbage and the turnips will be fine.

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59