Such Progress!! Steemit Community Garden Journal (Oct 2018)

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

I've missed a few months participating in @simplymike's Garden Journal, so here's an update; I feel so fortunate to have this large space to work with :)

BEFORE: August 22/18k89aa7y87z.png

AFTER: October 22/188jp6ghwp2q.png

It's amazing what two months of sunshine, watering and a little love will do! Yep, I'm one of those people who talks to her plants :)
axpthnpfu8.png
This guy needed a little extra TLC, especially on the right where you can see he was in a sorry state after moving here from our last place. And see all the little shoots coming out on the more recent pic? I'm able to snap those off and plant them in all of the larger posts that were already on this patio. They act as a bit of ground cover and trailers. I don't know what the plant is because I just "picked it up" somewhere, literally, and stuck it in some dirt to see what would happen. So, I'm curious to see if it will bloom or just keep growing like a cornstalk!
o9qteqyt45.png

We inherited this guy at our last place; the previous occupants had left him limp and dying ... how rude! Poor thing. Anyway, he had been planted in a cut-off water bottle and desperately needed to spread out. Straighten up and fly right ... that's my daily advice to him :)
415jewj0oc.png

I guess he was too smooshed in that little bottle to be able to bloom, but now I notice at night these little pods open up and have tiny white flowers in them; then they close up during the daylight again :) The whole plant has grown so well that I've been able to break several pieces away and transplant them elsewhere.
oz14ydes2e.png

This palm has taken off like crazy,
nw3geaa7ao.png
as well as the fern used as a ground cover in the large pot. The before photo is kind of blurry, but you can see how much it's grown regardless.
3n42gvrz6h.png

That "grass" in the white pots are both lemongrass! I had no idea until Buddy was chewing on it one day and when I picked him up, his breath smelled of lemons :) I looked it up, and apparently lemongrass is good for cats; ferns, not so much. That's why I've got the fern somewhat surrounded.
mhvf9javmf.jpg
Now I use the lemongrass to make tea; just boil it with a bit of ginger ... great for digestion. And yes, there's Wolfie, the latest edition, always a big help when I'm gardening; it's a good thing kittens are cute haha
t9a305ssmy.png

Here is the row of Bougainvillea that came with this apartment, and although there was some greenery, they were all very 'twiggy' and quite dry.
ilpoxq7wyg.jpg

This one had very few leaves and no blooms, but looks pretty good now.
mtrpodsv48.png
This one blossomed beautifully and reminds me of those "flowers" we used to make in elementary school art class with little squares of tissue paper folded on the end of a pencil and glued on paper. Do you have any idea what I'm talking about? haha
nwo9qrbicq.png
So did these :) There are five in total, and these bloom year round with a little care and attention.
x1zl59nkxh.png
They even show off in the rain :)
gr313k5yz5.png
Do you remember when our palapa was being repaired? The worker left a bare branch running up through the new one; at the time I wondered what he was doing, but look what bloomed there!
ie01eny3yh.png

He obviously knew what he was doing :)
3on4kqa2r5.png
44q6tl7tkn.png
These plants will grow huge, like a tree, and continually bloom all year round. This is the house two doors down that we see from the patio; notice the pink flowers? :)
bk4dy20x2m.png
axpthnpfu8.png

Anyone know what this is called? I call it Elephant Ears :)
Before:a0ibwhf283.png
After: mbf7r2k5sq.png

I've planted a pineapple, just by cutting the spiky top off, trimming it, until you find the "roots" and planting it! If anyone wants pineapple, I'll have some for you in about 7 years or so :)
qejcm9rbba.png

I also took a slice of tomato, stuck it in the dirt (literally just buried it), and look at what happened!!
k5wkqcj06s.png

Last but not least, my landlord surprised me with two things because he knows how much I love plants, and he does as well :) He brought me a red and white Calla Lily that I planted together,
9gbzs06pgc.png

and these seeds he brought home from a vacation in France; zucchini, basil, mint and lavender. He said to me, show me your magic :) Yikes! Cus that's not pressure at all haha :)
jg7cb74xxj.png
axpthnpfu8.png

Kudos to you if you managed to make it this far in a rather lengthy post! Thanks for hanging in there :) There are more plants here, but they'll just have to wait for another post next month; and no worries, I'll talk to them so they get through the heartache of being left out without too many scars:)

You also may have noticed what appears to be a bathtub in the middle of the patio, and that's because it is one :)

Stay tuned...that's for another post!
axpthnpfu8.png
This has absolutely NOTHING to do with gardening, but look who's getting along :)
9rir176nhh.png
Cheers!

9ek8m6grgf.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

88qyl2he9d.png

9ek8m6grgf.png

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.998170895218816
This post was voted: 74.04%

Wow, that's an impressive change for two months! Meanwhile, I'm yet to get my arse in gear and plant the tulip bulbs I was supposed to get... oh well... I"m only leaving home again....

I'm one of those people who talks to her plants :)

Not crazy... it's only when they talk back....

hahaha I've been seeing you talk of planting tulip bulbs here for a bit now ... we do follow in some of the same circles you know? :)

The plants only whisper to me. Does that count?

Well, when I get home next week... They are going in... Although, there may be some still in the ground from last year!

Whispering, I guess is only silently crazy?

what a lovely balcony! i try to have plants but i fear im too forgetful to have any success. you are quite the good mom!

awww thank you @torico! I used to forget to water sometimes, and have killed a few plants along the way, so now I water when I have my morning coffee; it's like I've scheduled it in now, so I don't forget :)

Bravo! Love all your greens! I especially like to look at before and after photos, can really amazed by them!

I especially like to look at before and after photos

Me too! I was shocked when I looked back in my photos to find them :) It's just like kids, you see them everyday and sometimes don't notice the growth :)

Thank you so much @roselifecoach :) I appreciate you stopping by!

The pleasure is mine, @lynncoyle1!

Hey, @lynncolyle1.

So, you've been off gardening. Looks like it's paying off. Everything looks very well cared for and vibrant. Like you've been talking to them or something.

Glad to see Buddy and Wolfie getting along. You wouldn't want them to fight like cats and... well, cats. :)

Google Images says your mystery plant is an Empress Tree. I don't think I believe it, but I guess we'll know if it basically outgrows the patio roof. :)

hahaha fighting like cats and cats :) Buddy is becoming like any big brother I think; He's sweet and loving sometimes and picks on her the other times!

I'm hoping that plant doesn't grow that big! Thank you for appreciating the work I've been putting into the plants; it's therapeutic for me; that and swimming. Both the plants and myself should be looking really good soon haha

Rather lengthy, really? You must have been saying that to everyone else.

Now I use lemongrass to make tea; just boil it...

Hmm, 🤔 I’ve seen this method done before, now where was I when I saw that?? Where uhm, what was I sayin? Oh ya, “fly right!!” That’s exactly what I say to my darts, “fly right,” do ya’all throw darts?

Hey @dandays! Now that looks like a better kind of tea :) And of course the "lengthy" post comment wasn't meant for you, but it would look like I was playing favorites if I singled you out. In my head, that's what I do though :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Lynn, your garden is looking so great! Everything is just flourishing there! Good job! I like the branch going through the roof. That's super cool. It all just looks so lovely. Makes me re-think why I don't live in a place like that.

So good to see the kitties getting along. That makes things much more peaceful.

Thanks so much! It's been a lot of daily maintenance, but I really enjoy it; it doesn't feel like work at all.

Keep re-thinking that! Maybe we could be neighbors one day :) The man who lives downstairs kept track of every penny he spent on food for a month here (eating at home most of the time), and he spent only about $225 Canadian! That's it! :) Tempting, right?! :)

Most things in life are like that. If you really enjoy it, then it doesn't seem like work. That's probably why they say that it's best to do something you love.

$225 Canadian?! That's not so bad. We do spend more than that per person here.

Hey @lynncoyle1 it is so great to see such beautiful greenary all around. Fantasti way to have suc nature all around close to you. The love and care that you pour on this garden are clearly visible. It is because of it that each one of them is spreading and blossoming everywhere.
Love to see them ...grow...have s nice day....steem on 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @steemflow! So sweet of you to say, and to notice the care of give these plants :)

The way they are blossoming it was quite visible how much you have taken care of it.....lovley one...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you again @steemflow :)

Your work has sure paid of what a delightful garden

Hey thank you @tattoodjay; I appreciate that :)

Most Welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56