Garden Journal: 🍁 May 13 - Path Progress, Compost Sorting 🌱

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

I absolutely love late Autumn here. It suits the side of me that likes to be organised and get rid of the old. It's cool, so you can work for hours without getting heatstroke, and you can get all the project done that you've been meaning to do for months.

Jamie and I have been a bit housebound over the last few weeks with illness and the like, so it was awesome to shake it off with some good old fashioned hard work. Whilst I guess there's nothing 'pretty' going on in the garden, we achieved a lot today.

The Garden Path is Progressing Nicely

I swear it's better than our house. I'll be able to get all the way to the compost heap without getting my ugg boots dirty - yay. And less weeding. Double yay. We've finished the big pavers that go right up the middle and now are working on making use of odd bits of bluestone and other scrap pavers we had lying around.


image.png

Plus, we used some river stones in the gaps, which for some reason really tickles me. I think it reminds me of childhood, up close to the ground in people's gardens with recycled paths like this. The little treasures pressed into the concrete always fascinated me.

The Compost Area and Garden Shed

We have a huge shed (well two) but it's always too far for me to go just to get fertiliser, secateurs and so on, so we used this apple crate to make a mini shed by the compost bins. We also widened two of our bins and created a third one, and I've been busy layering it with fallen leaves, comfrey leaves, straw, chook poo and other big leaves from the garden.




I've finally given up on the tomatoes ripening, so I pulled them all up and we had fried green tomatoes with scrambled tofu and beetroot tops from the garden for lunch, on top of that amazing sourdough I made out of biodynamic flour. Total heaven! Isn't it funny how a hard day's graft can make you starving?


Other Notable Chores

  • Picked the last of my granny smiths - cheeky parrots had even got a couple through the netting. They taste incredible.
  • Pruned the hops that has now died off.
  • Dug over and weeded the last section of the vegie patch
  • Weeded, newspapered and mulched some scrappy bits of the garden
  • Planted some marigolds that had self seeded
  • Transplanted some small cactus into some borders

Feeling rather chuffed - it's getting organised and tidy, ready for Winter.

What's been happening in your gardens? I'd love to hear about them - please copy the URL of your post below so I can check it out!

@simplymike has begun a great tag to keep track of your garden throughout the year, so if you're recording a journal of what you've been up to, consider using the #gardenjournal2018 tag so we can find each other easily. Fabulous to see @caab and @karenfoster taking this on - after dinner I'm going to check out your posts!

I don't think he's running the contest anymore but you can read all about his initiative here: https://busy.org/@simplymike/simplymike-zap-20180430t220605707z

I like it as it separates 'gardening' from a 'journal' where you run through all the busy stuff you've got going on in your SteemGardens - so I'm going to keep using it and hope you do too! It's actually really nice sitting here with a glass of wine and reflecting on the weekend's work!



small river circle.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

I like garden journals! Your path looks very posh :)

Thanks lovely. It's really posh isn't it... but I assure you.. all Wombled, bar the cement!!!

"Wombled" hahah great expression! Posh isn't as expensive these days as it used to be it seems! hahahahaha

can i just go buy worm from a fishing shop to start a compost with?! I want an instant one lol

Lol.... the worms will come! Instant... haha
.. but can be quick.if it's warm enough and layered right!!

I thought you'd get 'Wombled' as ever Brit surely would?

Cool that you are using the tag as I meant it to be: througout the year, even without the monthly contest going on.
It’s fun to see how others are preparing their garden for winter, while I’ve just planted out everything because summer is coming :0)

I know, I love watching the spring life in the northern hemi!!!! And when you settle down for winter we will be excited about new life.

I love the tag @simplymike and will promote it where I can. Xx

Oh my gosh! This is so trippy: going back into Autumn!
Absolutely love this connection (so late in the day) because it instantly ties into a lot of profound work I did on the meaning of the (Christian) festivals fixed per date but different per season as per hemisphere. (How could Christmas mean what it does - going within to find the inner sun - when it's summer for you?!). Well, I've figured it out (with the help of this book:)

Your vibrant gardening update suddenly shifted something into a relevant alignment for me, feeling lifted out of my noisy, electrified house (see Musing 19) into the free realm of being that is the World Ether that connects us all. What a (premature) Pentecostal feeling!

I've always presumed it was a lack of connection to the adopted land and a longing for ritual and connection. In Australia for years a Christmas Roast was the order of the day, even in heat! Now, not so much, we have adapted. We tend to celebrate occasion out in nature, as we are very connected to this landscape now..

That book looks so Interesting.. must check it out!! Thanks for sharing... you've sent me on a thought path!!!

You both have been busy and the path is looking great.

Thanks!!! It was great to get busy. Felt good.. achy today though!!

oh its so great that u spend your time for your garden, infact you spend this time for your soul. keep going and make it mor green and enjoy it☘

A lovely comment. Thankyou!!! It is good for our souls, for sure!!

Looking spiffy! At first I thought the little rocks were sea shells.
Tomorrow I'll check a small space at my dad's house to see if I can build a garden there. Inspired by you.

Aw that would be so cool.. humbled!!!

It's interesting to see you going into Winter with all your Autumn chores. So different than what I am doing here going into Summer. Love your path!

Thanks lovely! I know it's odd but really nice as I feel I can live Spring excitement through you guys!!

Looks like the garden is coming along nicely. Quite a lot of work you've managed to do there. Excited to see what else the garden will produce eventually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77