Who Says You Can't Garden in Winter: @riverflows Garden Journal



image.png

Winter in Victoria, Australia can be wet and cold, windy or icey, or resplendant with bright blue skies. It's the time of year where we really get muddy and start big projects in the garden that we wouldn't normally in the warmer months.

The sacred bamboo gives us splashes of winter crimson

After some gentle prompting by @mountainjewel, I decided to upload a little walk through a small section of our garden - although the skies are blue, it's about 15 degrees celsius, though we both ended up in tshirts as we moved mulch, weeded and paved the new path in the garden.

This is my very first dtube video upload, so please be gentle with me. It's a little weird hearing my voice on camera but it might give some of you a thrill. Excuse the awful editing - to be honest I just wanted to see if the whole game worked, and it was nice out there so I wanted to get back on with it!*

Anyway, here it is - enjoy this very small area of our garden!

A little run down on some things you may have missed or I didn't talk about in the Dtube. The garden path is almost complete - Jamie did give up a little this weekend as there's so many other things to do and the jigsaw crazy paving out of messy bricks was going to take ages for him to do. Plus, we had so many other things to get on with.

J's being tidying out the big shed as he's got a landrover chassis coming down from Queensland, so he needs to fit TWO landrovers in there essentially so he can put Buttercup on a new chassis. So this essentially means he needs more room and all my gardening stuff needed a new home. As you can see in the video, an apple crate with corrugated iron on it works a treat, so we shifted everything there this weekend. I also put tarp and newspaper and mulch under the fig we chopped down and we're hoping that's enough to kill the last of it. It didn't bear fruit and it was getting into the septic pipes, we feared.

Little marigolds are popping up everywhere - I tend to shake the seed heads around and their bright colours cheer me up. Plan to make some calendula cream out of them soon. It can get cold and frosty here - and stunningly beautiful as the fog and ice transform the garden - but lots of vegetables soldier on. The beetroot does really well when it takes longer to grow. I've put a tree guard around my eggplant and some mulch, so I'm hoping it may survive the frosts, but I do that every year and it never works. I dug up my black chilli and put it under glass so that should be okay.

The swedes are about ready to eat - looking forward to having them with butter or roasted with rosemary. I imagine the broccoli and cauli won't be long - well, the first sowings anyway. We're eating a lot of chard and spring onions with brown rice at the moment, which is tastier than it sounds. Lots of garlic chives and sprung garlic too, as we call it - those rogue clumps of strappy garlic leaves that grow out of missed bulbs. It won't form real cloves as it's too close together but it's amazing as a leafy garlicky herb and amazing in scrambled eggs. We try to make do with what we've got as much as we can.

The birch has all but lost her pretty leaves
The firebath's looking tired, but that's an ongoing project

We dug up a whole heap of artichokes this weekend as we're replacing that bed with a native one, as it's just too hard to get water up to them and I'm sick of maintaining them. I've got enough closer to the vegetable patch, enough for our needs and then some. Can't wait until Spring - marinated artichokes and goat's cheese on sourdough toast - yum!

So really, the garden journal early June is all about the big tidy up, ready for Spring and Summer. As it gets super hot here it's important to prep all the plants at this time of the year - weed, fertilise, mulch, plant shade covers for micro climates, divide plants and figure out what we don't need. There's a LOT going on although not quite the prolific Autumn/Spring growth when things are really crazy in the garden.

Some other jobs we're doing:

  • Layering grass clippings and so on for the compost
  • Mulching to prevent weed growth
  • Sorting out garden edging and weeding ready for a new path topping to come in next month
  • Transplanting self seeded fennel and parsley
  • Transplanting kale, kohlrabi, rocket and leeks from my mini seed growing bed
  • Working out where we want to put the steam sauna
  • Weeding and composting the raspberry patch
  • Planting blueberries
  • Weeding around the fruit trees
  • Dividing up herbs like oregano and thyme to plant in random parts of the garden
  • Tidying up the fire bath and cementing a chimney so it doesn't leak smoke
  • figuring out where we want to put our outdoor shower set up

So as you can see, even though it's Winter in Victoria, there's a LOT going on in our garden as usual.

One of my favourite things to do on a winter's afternoon when the hard labour is done is sit in the bus and look out on it all, with the fire going and a cuppa or a stronger brew and listen to the birds. It's warm and cosy for tired bones, and I can postpone going inside to the house proper and the jobs that await me there. It's a little escape from the rest of the world, a place to be and dream.

Oh, and to figure how how the hell dtube works..

This is in response to @simplymike's gardenjournal2018 contest. It's a great little reminder to record and write about what's going on in our gardens and to share it with everyone in Steemworld. You can find the contest here.


image.png

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif




ecotrain.png

Want to find more quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place? Check out the #ecotrain and #tribesteemup trails, and consider adding them to your autovoting. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

We're also winter gardening here in South Africa! Well more focused on cleaning up at the moment. We have marigolds popping up all over. Can't say I like them but they are great to keep away bugs. Do you have your own goats? Or buy the goats cheese? My girls are all pregnant so I'm feeling a little deprived of their delicious cheese

We buy goats cheese locally... I would love goats but too busy for animals sadly. Love your goats! I didnt realise you were in South Africa!

You are right, I like, even though we do not have winter but I can feel and see through your video, thanks for sharing

No worries. Thanks for commenting. Where do you live?

Thanks for the tour. I have just been brunning fruit trees and a grape vine.

Oh i need to prune too!!! Do you have a big place?

No only a about 520 square meter block.

You can still grow a lot in a small space though, right? Sometimes I wish I didn't have so much - so much hard work!!

For sure you can grow alot in a small space. :)

oo, yes... it's already a winter somewhere...))
anyway, it seems you have all your hands to do! big planes!
good winter to your garden!

Thankyou! Yes, lots to do!

I was in meekatharra WA in April and may 5 years ago there was some bloody cold wind but the sun would still be warm enough for a Tshirt. The light was super beautiful, the sunset incredible, the colour of the land and the sky and really peaceful too. I slept very deeply there, I also had a creative spark that led me on a crazy journey I never expected. Would love to go back to aus, but no money no visa no chance haha! Looks really beautiful where you are. Steem sauna sounds ace. And what is it like for the snakes ans spiders near u, any dangerous ones?

Ah, everyone asks that question! Redbacks in the woodshed, an occasional snake down by the dam, but nothing really - we've been quite lucky. We're also lucky that we get these lovely warm days in the midst of cold and rain - cheers you up! When I lived in England I used to get depressed for NEVER seeing blue sky for months. Meekatharra is more inland and further north, so no suprise you'd get warmer days there. Sounds like you had an enlightening and peaceful time - I love those travel memories. I hope you make it back here one day! You never know. Never say never. xxx

Lovely lovely as I've already told you on Discord! It was so cool to go with you through the garden.

My dad was watching with me your video as I was explaining that I have friends in Australia - He liked that the pathway is cemented he said "wow they even cemented the pathway".

Oh that's sweet your Dad was watching. The concrete pavers are a totally luxury and make my life easier... lesss weeding. We found them for supercheap. Im so glad you enjoyed it xx

Yeaaaah I was all excited telling him about my friends on the other side of the world, he doesn't understand a single word of english though.

Telling him about how you guys build and organize things to see if he gets some inspiration for himself.

ah finally got a chance to watch this! i loved hearing your voice :) and also getting a proper walk through of your garden. now i can definitely understand the layout and all the different niches you have. you have a lot going on! it's super lovely. what is a "wicking garden" -- not familiar with that term.

yaaaay i'm so glad you made a vid!!! <3 <3 thanks!!

He he no worries, glad you got to watch it! There's a few more nooks and crannies I haven't explored, but that's for another time.

A wicking bed is a great system for dry areas. They've done amazing things with it in the desert. YOu basically put gravel in the bottom, then a layer of geofabric or shadecloth, then soil. You put a bit of pipe feeding into the gravel bit, and that's where you put the water through. The plants roots go down to the water source rather than watering from above - you get a LOT less evaporation that way. We are FINE from early Autumn to late Spring - then it's just really hard to keep teh garden watered and I feel uncomfortable with it. So I'm just going to cover it with mulch and have wicking beds which should grow enough summer vegies - cucumber, lettuce, eggplants, tomato and the like - for the two of us. I'm really excited about it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71