Sort:  

I'm a bit amazed I haven't seen more bugs. This was quite grown up with scrub brush before it was bulldozed. Hadn't been touched for about 20 years. I do have lots of weeds, but few bugs. ::shrug:: just lucky I guess.

  • I have kept the cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower well covered with sevin dust...

I assume sevin dust is some kind of rock dust (can’t find the proper translation for what I mean, an example is lava dust)?
I’ve been recommending it to people as a good way to save cabbages from being eaten, but I haven’t been applying it myself. It has rained so often this last week, that it would simply rain off again and again every day...

Thanks for the question. It's always too easy to ASSume products we use are available everywhere under the same name. haha

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbaryl

There appears to be quite a bit of scare hype on the net about it. I've used it for decades and found it to be one of the safest insecticides. I even powder the dogs with it if they get too many ticks. Of course, I always rinse well when harvesting. It is quite effective.

Carbaryl
Carbaryl (1-naphthyl methylcarbamate) is a chemical in the carbamate family used chiefly as an insecticide. It is a white crystalline solid commonly sold under the brand name Sevin, a trademark of the Bayer Company. Union Carbide discovered carbaryl and introduced it commercially in 1958. Bayer purchased Aventis CropScience in 2002, a company that included Union Carbide pesticide operations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83