Sort:  

Are your onions going to be sets or from seed? I tried starting some from seed this last year, but they never do as well as the sets do, for me at least.

I have never used sets, so I can't speak to them. I have always started from seed. The thing about onion seed is it is very fragile. It looses germination easily. I keep all my seed in the refrigerator and don't try to use onion seed over 1 year old.

The normal results:

Cortland onions to root cellar1 crop Sept. 2018.jpg

These are the storage onions. These are the Walla Walla Sweets, that won't store:

Walla Walla onions1 crop Aug. 2014.jpg

The thing about onions is most of them are daylight sensitive, meaning they need a lot of direct light and long days to develop. I start mine under good plant lights with at least 14 hrs of light a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85