MY NEW FAVORITE GREEN - MALABAR SPINACH

in #ghsc6 years ago

This stuff is amazing!


I had wanted to grow this plant for some time now, and thankfully this year we finally got it going. So far, I am incredibly impressed, and I'll tell you why.

MALABAR SPINACH - MY NEW FRIEND

"Normal" Spinach is a low-growing green, but this "spinach" is a vining, edible leaf. It has an almost purslane-like crunch, and the vines make it easy to harvest. By having them run up a trellis, there is a lot less bending over to harvest the leaves. We have been enjoying them in salads and stir-frys, and the whole family has been eating them up!

About three months ago I planted these plants. Now, they are vining everywhere and we are harvesting like crazy. I am amazed at how much these plants are able to produce!

This photo is taken from the same side as the "freshly planted" photo, so you can see the difference. Moreover, we've taken a lot of leaves off of the vines, and there are still more to come!

They are now mature enough to start flowering and "fruiting" as well, so we are getting some very dark purple "berries." This can only mean one thing...

Free seeds for next year! This is one of the amazing things about gardening! After trying a plant that you enjoy, you can literally have it for generations to come, just by saving your own seeds!

The harvest this morning was impressive, and we not only were able to save some for the winter, but we also enjoyed some right away. You may be wondering if it was a salad or stir-fry today...

It was a stir-fry, and it was amazing. We enjoyed it very much, and even a little bowl full can really fill you up! I've definitely got enough energy for the day, so it's time to get back to work! Steem on my friends!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-malabar-spinach

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

When I seen your post I was 😀. But when I checked them out I was 😞. They are not related to the spinach plant and are not a cold-weather plant. So you know they won't work in for me.

If you started them early enough you could possibly get them to grow and harvest them all summer long up there.

Awesome!.....:)...

That looks awesome! Very healty for sure, lots of "Chi"/"Ki" or how you spell that...

I have heard the same thing from @mericanhomestead on this plant! I will definitely have to try this. Looks like a new best friend for salads! Thanks! :)

I did not know that there was a vine-ing variety of spinach.
That is so very helpful in tight areas, and keeps the leaves up away from the long eared rodents whats eats them before you get to.

Spinach is interesting. As... most people have only known spinach from a can... (popeye) and that stuff is nasty. But, once you have really good, fresh spinach, it sorta makes lettuce, just kinda blah.

And as you said, the nice thick leaves go great into stir-fries.

A spinach-like plant and great substitute! We love them!

Wow this is so delicious.

I'm growing this kind of spinach again this year, because of how well it did last year! I like how it climbs, which helps me to grow more in a smaller space!

Yeah man, this is one I've been growing for a while in pots! It does very well and even takes well to dry conditions. Nicely done ans such an added beneficial plant to your garden and family's diet! I never really thought of using a trellis with them? Now I'm gonna! Thank you brother for the idea!

You should! Grow them up!

I think I am after seeing how you did yours. Looks good and they seem to be doing great.

So awesome I had heard of Malabar Spinach, but wasn't sure if it grew here in Phoenix. I just looked it up, and sure enough it loves the Phoenix Heat! I need to plant some, I wonder if they will do well in a pot.

You should really grow them out there! They'd love the heat, and probably do great in pots on your patio!

Awesome, I will have to go to the nursery and get some seeds then. Oh yeah! I am guessing the spinach would go great in my morning smoothies. I always buy spinach haha. I tried a variety called Egyptian Spinach, have you heard of that kind? But I wasn't very successful with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99