Bringing More Women onto the Platform // 10 SBD Giveaway Winners Announced!

in #giveaway6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

Wow – there were so many incredible entries in my latest giveaway! The goal of this giveaway was to get people thinking about the women in their life that they could bring onto the platform. I asked people to think of one person, and then go a bit deeper and think about how they might introduce Steemit to this person. If they are a musician, perhaps they could show them the #openmic community, or show them some music posts on Dtube, Dlive and Dsound.

I couldn’t believe how creative everyone got! I really enjoyed each entry and want to say how much I appreciate each person who participated – simply because it was so fun to read through your comments! What touched me the most were people saying they had never really thought about telling their sister or friend…but this contest made them realize how much value that person could bring the community here.

Even though I really enjoyed each entry – there were a handful that stuck out to me for various reasons. In this video, I discuss why I loved the entries from each of the below people!

@daveonarrival, @ferrisbueller, @bunnymoney, @scottshots, @oxygen02, @melvadg, @camlilus, @tressareid, @kofibeatz, @crowbarmama, @a-alice, @mashiliyanage, @littlescribe

I just want to take a quick moment to appreciate @littlescribe’s friend… who literally had her cover of “With or Without You” by U2 played at the Olympics. Yeah, you read that right! Give it a listen… because this girl is so talented. I think we can all agree that she could absolutely crush @dtube, @dlive, @dsound… or wherever she put her energy here on the platform. Maybe we can give her some love in the comments to encourage her to join us??

Giveaway Winners


As promised, there will be three winners in total! One person will win 6 SBD, and then I will do a random draw for two additional people to win 2 SBD each. I wanted to be able to primarily reward someone who left an exceptional comment – but I also love the idea of a random draw too! It just makes it a little more fun.

Grand Prize Winner of 6 SBD – @scottshots

Random Draw Winner - #1 - @lantracy

Random Draw Winner - #2 - @a-alice

The Challenge Continues…


Just because this giveaway is now over, doesn’t mean that we can’t still be thinking about some of the awesome people around us who might benefit from joining Steemit. As I mentioned in this video, Steemit literally has the ability to change lives by altering someone’s financial position, giving them a creative outlet, and helping them find community and friendships.

Thanks to everyone who participated! I hope you all had fun this week chatting with some of your friend about Steemit.

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I try and focus on user retention. We have extremely poor user retention on this site. Hopefully with the new @dustsweeper that will improve some.

Great point @mysearchisover. Focusing on just getting people onto the platform is only half of the equation. making sure they have support and encouragement when they get here is another piece of things.

Congratulation to all the winners :)

It was soo hard to choose! haha Thanks for your support!

Thanks for all the love you gave my hubby, @scottshots! He is very dedicated to steemit and had nice words about you. Also, thank you for the mention. I also have a friend with a PhD in entomology (insects) who is currently unemployed that I should turn on to steemit. Have a great day!

Wow, you guys have such a cool and talented circle of friends! Seriously, whenever you do posts on tax implications with crypto... that could be HUGE! 😊

Yes, you accumulate lots of friends and contacts being as old as we are, lol.

Whaaaaat!?!! Thank you!!! It's so much fun to let other folks know about steemit and dtube. I'm meeting with my ski videographer friend tomorrow morning and if we have time, I will show her this vid, haha! So cool. She mentioned that she needs her vids to be archived. Ouch. I know @dtube removes vids after a while. Any thoughts on making her vids somewhat permanent and downloadable on the steem blockchain? @dtube @kpine @steemcafe @dnews @captainbob @reseller ?

Also... My sister is a burning man beast and lives an even more freedom loving life than I do. It's hard to contact her or track her down but next time she she shows up, I will preach the good word of steem lol.

Again, thank you Lea!!! Cheers!!!

aww that's so cool to hear that you are meeting with her tomorrow!! She would seriously crush it on here.

Storing videos long term is a big concern right now. I know it is something that is being worked on and maybe one of the people you tagged will be able to enlighten us.

As a work around... i've actually started adding YouTube links to some of my Dtube and Dlive videos. I would rather just support those platforms and not use YouTube - but I keep getting resounding feedback from the community that they would rather have YouTube links added because sometimes there are playability issues with Dtube and Dlive.

YouTube uses their own servers (not IPFS) which means that the video will be stored more permanently. I know that your friend is currently a YouTuber... maybe she loads videos there at the same time that she loads to Dtube and has it shared on both platforms?

A little more on IPFS so you can explain it to her tomorrow...

It is basically video storage that is NOT centralized. Unlike YouTube who has centralized servers that store all of their videos - IPFS spreads the file among several computers - so there is no central authority. Basically, when you go to play a video on IPFS, it reaches out to the computers storing those files and asks them to play the video. If the computers are down - then the video won't play. These computers also can't store an indefinite amount of video footage - hence the lack of long term storage.

That is at least my rudimentary understanding. I could be off on a few points - but that's how it was explained to me. :)

Best explanation yet for an old dude like me and ol ... wait... I'm not going to call Trina old, haha! Yeah, one week dtube plays great, the next not so much but dlive plays great, then dlive doesn't play but dtube does... Lately neither plays properly, Grrrr. Adding a youtube link might be her golden ticket. Thanks for the great reply. I will show Trina this tomorrow....

Thanks so much for the mention! I will be sure to start keeping others in mind to bring to the platform as well. This was a great initiative and contest, I was happy to part of it ;)

Congratulations to @scottshots, @lantracy and @a-alice. Thanks @coruscate for the recognition @oxygen02 care so much ❤

Thank you @oxygen02! I'm just happy to have a reply for my friend tomorrow but now I can show her blockchain earnings, lol.

Hope that more outstanding female artists can participate in your competition! !

希望更多的优秀的女艺术家可以参与到你的比赛中来!!

Congratulations to the winners 🙂

dang I was already doing this

Awesome to hear that you are helping to bring your friends onto the platform!

well slow down now it hasn't worked yet lol but I been telling people

Congratulations to the winners!

Thanks for the support @alphasteem!! It was sooo hard to choose. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72