You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bringing More Women onto the Platform // 10 SBD Giveaway Winners Announced!

in #giveaway6 years ago

Whaaaaat!?!! Thank you!!! It's so much fun to let other folks know about steemit and dtube. I'm meeting with my ski videographer friend tomorrow morning and if we have time, I will show her this vid, haha! So cool. She mentioned that she needs her vids to be archived. Ouch. I know @dtube removes vids after a while. Any thoughts on making her vids somewhat permanent and downloadable on the steem blockchain? @dtube @kpine @steemcafe @dnews @captainbob @reseller ?

Also... My sister is a burning man beast and lives an even more freedom loving life than I do. It's hard to contact her or track her down but next time she she shows up, I will preach the good word of steem lol.

Again, thank you Lea!!! Cheers!!!

Sort:  

aww that's so cool to hear that you are meeting with her tomorrow!! She would seriously crush it on here.

Storing videos long term is a big concern right now. I know it is something that is being worked on and maybe one of the people you tagged will be able to enlighten us.

As a work around... i've actually started adding YouTube links to some of my Dtube and Dlive videos. I would rather just support those platforms and not use YouTube - but I keep getting resounding feedback from the community that they would rather have YouTube links added because sometimes there are playability issues with Dtube and Dlive.

YouTube uses their own servers (not IPFS) which means that the video will be stored more permanently. I know that your friend is currently a YouTuber... maybe she loads videos there at the same time that she loads to Dtube and has it shared on both platforms?

A little more on IPFS so you can explain it to her tomorrow...

It is basically video storage that is NOT centralized. Unlike YouTube who has centralized servers that store all of their videos - IPFS spreads the file among several computers - so there is no central authority. Basically, when you go to play a video on IPFS, it reaches out to the computers storing those files and asks them to play the video. If the computers are down - then the video won't play. These computers also can't store an indefinite amount of video footage - hence the lack of long term storage.

That is at least my rudimentary understanding. I could be off on a few points - but that's how it was explained to me. :)

Best explanation yet for an old dude like me and ol ... wait... I'm not going to call Trina old, haha! Yeah, one week dtube plays great, the next not so much but dlive plays great, then dlive doesn't play but dtube does... Lately neither plays properly, Grrrr. Adding a youtube link might be her golden ticket. Thanks for the great reply. I will show Trina this tomorrow....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67