Working Off the Golf Rust

in #golf6 years ago

I got out and played a round of golf yesterday with a buddy. It was the first round of golf I have played in 9 months, as life has been a whirlwind since adopting Kendra. I usually average 1 round a month historically, but my schedule has just not allowed for it lately.

I have never been a great golfer, but I am not terrible either. I usually shoot in the mid 80s, which is a little better than bogey golf. I have always felt that golf is like riding a bike, once you have the swing down and know how to execute, you can always pick up a club and play OK.

I am now rethinking my "golf is like riding a bike" mentality, as I hit bad shot after bad shot yesterday. I played like I hadn't played golf in years (which is not that far off), and I found the mechanics of muscle memory and small things you forget after not playing enough, to be too much to overcome after no practice. There are just too many things that have to work properly and in tandem for a golf swing to work great, and inconsistencies of one or two things a little off can result in a bad round of golf. Plus, there is an element of touch and feel, which is only honed with experience and practice...

I shot a 94.

Ouch. But I did have fun out there, and I did much better on the back 9 (43 on the back after a 51 on the front) after getting in some "practice" on the front nine. My buddy is also a decent golfer at a 10 handicap, but he struggled too, so that made me feel a little better about my bad round. It was beautiful day outside as well at 85 degrees Fahrenheit and the course we played had nice mountain views (though it wasn't in the greatest condition). All in all, it was good to get on the course again and I look forward to redemption the next time out!

0338B5F2-D936-4FB7-9C58-0450E8A1A205.jpeg

A6D3EBA8-CE8E-4336-8E68-82D3D26366B4.jpeg

A061C549-58A2-4C10-A666-115C3F0CB04A.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by!

Brian

Sort:  

These tree-lined courses can be tough. Gotta keep it in the short grass!

I played this weekend as well. A couple foul balls kept the score from being a lot better than it was.

Yes, it was difficult as any tee ball off the fairway pretty much left you with no shot in! Glad you got out... bummer about the errant shots tho. You really need to put everything together in order to score well!

Hi @brian.rrr
Your experience is a great struggle, although this time it fails, but you have to be passionate and keep trying. Your golfing location is so beautiful.
Good luck.

Great to see more golf content being posted on Steemit. I love golf but am far from a scratch golfer. I get out for the sheer enjoyment of it. I live in Canada, so I can relate to having to knock the rust off each and every spring. It's like starting over each year, and then finally when I'm finally getting things dialed in, it's the end of the season. Keep it on the short grass! FORE!

Yeah, I hear you on the rust! Appreciate you stopping by buddy!

Yeah, I hear you on
The rust! Appreciate you
Stopping by buddy!

                 - brian.rrr


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

golf is a very talented game.but i know something its game not fully.but today your post to read i am knowing alots of idea this game.unfortunately,my country not this game.so,when i am not played this game.but i am watching this game my tv chanell.you select doing very good place for playing this game.i am really appreciating your post always.because its giving alltime new knowledge idea of my life.thanks to sharing forgood post of game. very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr my blessing alltime with you... and your sweet family..

The important thing about all this is that you got fun that's great, I've never played glof, I hope I can prove this at some point, even though you say it's difficult, I think you have to take aim

Friend, how are you? I'm a little lost because of problems with the internet but I barely get the signal I'm looking for my friends and among them are you, the golf catches my attention I guess you have to be very precise I'm sure you'll get up to date if you dedicate a little of your time

Hello how are you? moments like these you need you are an excellent man good father good husband you deserve a moment for you

Golf is the most standard game. Really it's very interesting. You feel something uneasy to play golf as you aren't not playing regularly. It's a normal thing if we not play any game regularly then felling uneasy. But if you play again regularly then you properly enjoy the game.

After spending so much time without playing it is normal that one loses the thread of the game. This sport is more than all concentration and technique, it is not at all simple if you have never practiced continuously. The good thing is that they were rewarded with a good sunny weather.

I have totally been where you were yesterday. I used to play golf 3-4 times a week before I got married and had kids. That reduced to 3-4 times a year when I first moved to Ontario and now I am lucky to get out at all. I have always shot low 80's but my last round was a 96 mess with me chasing my bad shots all over the course. Someday I will have time to play again. At least, that's what I keep telling myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94