My Most Important Post To Date: The 'goodwithtravels' Project ExplainedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #goodwithtravels5 years ago (edited)

This has been a post I've been very nervous to write, yet now is the time to finally release it to the world.

This is the introduction to both myself and my upcoming #goodwithtravels project.

The goodwithtravels logo in full:
tualtbhx38.jpg

1. A Quick Intro: Who Am I?

My name's Franck; I'm 28 and from the UK. I love to travel and often write blogs or edit videos as a hobby, sharing them with friends and family. I also have a full-time job and a career that I'm very proud of.

v71ooo0xz3.jpg

2. What have I got planned for the coming months?

I've put my career on hold, moved out of my rented apartment and stored a few things with my parents.

All this to live out of a rucksack for the foreseeable future and explore the world for six months or so.

The end date is still yet to be determined, so it'll hopefully be longer than 6 months. In fact, it could be shorter if the money runs out too fast, but I hope not!

The first month's route looks a little like this:
gmoej0jhzh.png

3. What is the 'goodwithtravels' project all about?

This is something I'm both excited about and nervous to share.

In short, the goodwithtravels project will be a blogging voice that promises to give away HALF OF ALL blogging earnings over the course of these six months to good causes around the world.

This includes Steem, Bitcoin and Ethereum, which will be converted into the most relevant Fiat currency and donated to a registered charity or good cause at the end of my trip. I hope that readers will follow along and make suggestions on how and where we are able to help.

Given the right levels of interest, I may provide options and allow for a vote to ensure a democratic allocation of funds, as chosen by the people that will have helped the channel grow.

I hope to be active across Steemit, YouTube, Instagram and possibly Appics / Flixxo, depending on how much time and energy I have.

4. What are the objectives?

My objectives with this #goodwithtravels project are threefold:

  1. To create content that you enjoy reading or watching
  2. To inspire you to think about how you can improve the life of others
  3. To help others through a continued narrative

5. What are my inspirations for the concept?

I've always been inspired by the likes of Bill Gates and other such businessmen who have proved that good deeds can be both commercially successful (ie can be run as a business) and generous (ie can help others).

I'm most certainly not at that level, but I hope that the spirit of the #goodwithtravels project will shine through in much the same way.

I feel very generous to be in the position I'm in, and I'd like to create a blogging voice that is both interesting and exciting to engage with, while also creating a positive outcome for others.

6. If I'm giving away half of all my Steem and digital earnings in 2019 from the goodwithtravels project, what will I do with the other half?

It's important for me to be transparent here, and the truth is that at present I don't 100% know for certain.

It may well end up being kept for personal use at a later date, as a reward and an incentive to keep the blog going, or it may well end up being reinvested into another project down the line altogether.

Either way, I hope to have engaged with as many people as possible along the way, creating interesting content and helping others in doing so. With your help, this ambition can become a reality.

7. Is there anything I'm particularly worried about?

There are tonnes of things I'm worried about!

The reception towards the concept of the blog, the possibility that I might lose motivation, the potential for having things lost or stolen, the fact that crypto-coins and tokens may continue to nosedive in 2019... just to name a few.

Still, all this uncertainty adds to the mystery and the opportunity that lies ahead.

The badge version of the goodwithtravels logo:

s3r5kt310q.jpg

8. What am I asking of you, my fellow content creators and readers?

Any and all feedback is welcome.

Let me know your thoughts on the project as a whole, the countries I should visit, the sights I should see, people I should meet, the food I should try... anything you can!

9. Any final thoughts?

A huge thank you to the handful of Steemians I nervously met at #Steemfest3 in Krakow, who all encouraged me to be my authentic blogging self.

These included @for91days, @guchtere, @mrprofessor, @steemcafe, @cryptogee, @daveonarrival, @world-travel-pro, @soyrosa, @luzcypher, @daniel.errey, to name only a few.

To anyone reading: please do get onboard and support in any way possible!

On Steemit: Follow / Resteem / Upvote
On YouTube: Subscribe / Like
On Instagram: Follow / Like

Last, but not least, let me know your thoughts and feedback. I am all ears, and your opinion matters to me.

TL:DR - goodwithtravels is a travel blogging project that aims to give away 50% of all digital earnings to charity. Therefore by supporting the blog, you help support good causes.

Thanks again for your support; Without you, there will be no goodwithtravels!

Peace

Franck / @goodwithtravels

nig17s5456.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting project.
I was also interested in where you managed to find a train coach graveyard in Britain! I never saw rusting things when I lived there... certainly not like that. Very cool though, all the same.

Great post! I found you because @porters featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

THanks for the kind words @viking-ventures! Let's hope we continue to see Steemit thrive as a community for projects of all sorts. I hope you're well - any feedback along the way on what content you're enjoying most would be most welcome!

Godspeed, Franck. You'll have lots of adventures and I'm looking forward to hearing about them. When do you depart?

Posted using Partiko Android

Many thanks @daveonarrival! Hope you're well and that we might paths along the way.

I leave on Saturday, so it's just around the corner. First stop, New Zealand...

What a wonderful idea; kudos to you for taking the leap of faith! If anyone was going to encourage you to travel and give back to communities, it would be @luzcypher :)

I found your post because @porters featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; please feel free to join us with an entry of your own any week!

Many, many thanks for your support and kind comment @lynncoyle1 . Without you and our fellow Steemians, this project will be nothing more than a dreamed up fantasy, so I hope I can stick with it and that yourself and everyone else will continue to enjoy it.
All the best and let's stay in touch!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Woohoo - thanks @travelfeed and @for91days. Looking forward to seeing your DApp and all the great things it will do for the travel-blog community!

This sounds like an incredible idea. I'll be following you to see how it goes.

I think over the next years, it's foolish to try to get a regular income with cryptocurrencies. It will always be a mad roller-coaster. I believe they will all go up again... and that will, once again, last for a couple of months, before crumbling all down for another couple of years. I believe this cycle of "a few months up, a few years down" will be the norm. So beware...

Thanks for your article, which I've found because @porters featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Many thanks @trincowski. I honestly have no idea what will come of the project, so to hear kind words of support from readers like yourself encourages me greatly.

As for your comment that "it's foolish to try to get a regular income with cryptocurrencies" - when it comes to a small blogger like myself, I completely agree! There are those that will already have large holdings or reader-bases who can perhaps manage to get by (donations, passive income etc) regardless of the crypto-price, but for myself this is very much just an experiment with a series of technologies that I'm by no means an expert on. I don't expect to pay myself back for the trip, nor do I expect to make enough to avoid work altogether; I'll come back to London and resume my career when the time is right.

Let's see over the coming days, weeks and months whether it comes to anything or not; thanks again for your support.

RRooaaaarrrr @guchtere told me about your travelplan!
More or less I'm doing the same as a T-Rex I'm always on the run....

Looking forward to read and watch about your adventures, goodluck with that! Will resteem this one and you got a new follower.

Thank you so much @trexxie - delighted to have (probably) the best T-Rex in the world following along on the journey!

Thanks to EVERYONE that reads this post, and thanks in advance for helping me launch this off the ground.

If you're interested in seeing my thoughts in video format, you can find the below from D.Tube:*

https://d.tube/v/goodwithtravels/xff0ccm3

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=goodwithtravels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-most-important-post-to-date-the-goodwithtravels-project-explained


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

All the best to you on your travels!
I'll be following you to keep updated on your travels.
I hear New Zealand is a wonderful place to visit - good place to start!
Upvoted 100% to add to your pot for the causes too!


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 40. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64