Gratitude for Simplicity: A moment to Reflect

in #gratitude6 years ago

6675f3cb-8934-4474-a12c-6ee82f82acaf.jpeg


For the last couple of day, I have been spending more time on comments, than on posts. There are currently a lot of good discussions about "what steps to take" for the betterment of Steemit. A particularly good one is going on a post created by @themarkymark.

Meanwhile, our lavender is in full bloom.

This morning, I stood outside and just observed and drank in the scent. I watched happy bees, going about their business.

And I felt a great deal of gratitude for the peace I feel, when I just focus on the simple things in life, and allow all the noise and clutter of busy-ness to fall away.

We often forget about the value of simplicity, and its surprisingly healing effect.

Sometimes I forget that "simplicity" was one of the primary reasons I originally wanted to get off the hamster wheel of the mainstream and make mine as an "independent."

Sometimes I have to remind myself of that intent, as the busy-ness of the world starts to creep in and tries to invade my sense of peacefulness.

So... I encourage you to take a few moments to just STOP and enjoy something really simple. And allow yourself a moment of gratitude for simply BEING!

When was the last time YOU took a break?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

And I felt a great deal of gratitude for the peace I feel, when I just focus on the simple things in life, and allow all the noise and clutter of busy-ness to fall away.

This feeling never gets old.

Indeed — it really is a feeling that never gets old. And I find it's important to just pause and be grateful... to not take anything for granted.

I finally found a moment last week to visit my favorite park, had a new puzzle book with me, I sit under the traffic light in the parking lot alongside the river late at night working out a puzzle. It nice to just sit there with barely anybody around, maybe catch a glimpse of a crane or a family of raccoons scurrying bout. I also love doing the same thing during a prolonged heavy rain during the day. I call it day camping, listening to the raindrops hit the roof of the car, everything appears so lush and green, basking in the silence that surrounds me.

I call it day camping

I like that term! And I have found that practicing it on a regular basis has become an increasingly important part of my mental and emotional well-being.

Thanks, I agree! It's interesting that the lavender and bees working in the field relaxes you.

I myself is a beekeeper and I always enjoy a day out in nature taking out honey from my hives.

Makes you appreciate life and the world around you so much more!

@sacryptocollector

Nature is just very relaxing to me... and I often use just simply sitting somewhere and watching what goes by in place of meditation; I find it to be every bit as healing.

I would imagine being a beekeeper is a very Zen sort of thing, too.

Its just as you say! I like to go fishing and its a wonderful day even if no fish bite. Many friends would ask but how? It's those times just sitting and staring out into nature that heals your soul!

Beekeeping is actually natures way of telling you: "If you want the goodness I have to offer... You need to be calm in my presence."

Thats because the bees smell the adrenaline when you get scared and then they are more prone to sting.

I took a relaxing break this afternoon when I went out for a stroll around my neighbourhood looking at trees for my tree tuesday post.

Hanging out with trees is always a relaxing thing to do. 😁

Nature is definitely a marvelous healer... and most of the time, I try to live by the reality that I often share with people: "Nature is my church."

I'm taking breaks every day while I am trying to make my own hamster wheel as you named it. I felt more often what you describe in the post when I was doing yoga, but that contemplation attraction still emerges from time to time.

If you're on someone else's hamster wheel, I wish you much success in your efforts to get OFF it! If it's your own hamster wheel, remember you don't have to be ON it, all the time!

Either way, just remember to take breaks. The world won't fall apart, just because you aren't "at something" all the time.

Frequent breaks lose their effectiveness, but a peaceful lifestyle is wonderful. Personal balance takes time to achieve. Be happy!

Agreed! What matters most is finding a sense of balance... took me a while to figure that out, but I am definitely more of a human BE-ing than a Human DO-ing.

cuddle_sit.png

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-10T19:57:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 117.05/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.23 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

the honeymooners are busy for today, all activities for everyday life...

I'm afraid that just looks like a bad outcome with a language translator... but thanks for stopping by!

wow so nice naturephotography....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59