You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make a Mini Greenhouse from TRASH!

in #greenhouse6 years ago

That is my dream. I use to run workshops from my barn and teach people about horses. Everything except riding. I loved making the lives of the animals better and helping people achieve their dreams.
I placed 125 rescue horses in 3 years.
With the permaculture model I can create a unique opportunity for people to learn to grow food, animal husbandry, farm life, etc.
It will be hard work and fun.

Sort:  

125 is impressive! I rescue Dachshunds, so I know how hard it is to find a forever home. Good Job! :)

I was very proud of our work, still am. I might get back to it when I am on my own land again.....and get that hay field in. Back then I had more cash flow I can't afford to right now.

it is important for people to understand that rescues cost cash! It is always great to save and place an animal, but it does drain the pocketbook!

The rehabilitation is what drained me. Financially, physically and emotionally.
The rehab work takes skill and time. People working jobs can't feed a horse 5 or 6 times a day and hand walk them just as many. So many horses required a lot of dedication to get them to the point of being adoptable.
And some required special placement. One mare took 2 years due to psychological trauma. She was touching case and interesting.
I'm sure it's the same with dogs. Having just done rehab on my neighbors dog that was attacked by another dog I know it was time consuming as well. Perhaps not as expensive but still took commitment.

As you say, the rehab and vet bills for rehab, take most of the time and money. I have one now who was beaten for several years, and he is a sweet dog. I will not be able to place him, because of the damage this jerk did to him. I have kept 3 so far, but he is beginning to let me pet him now after a year and a half.

Aww, so glad he found you!

He just came for petting, so I am gaining on it, LOL! And he is trying to shake hands some . But he will not jump up on my lap, too dangerous still! :(

He is moving in finally, his couch, and temporary pillow:

20180707_190533.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85