The Green Smoothie – A blessing for body and soul

in #greensmoothie8 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, hello steemit!



The Green Smoothie is a magic potion for the entire family, no matter how old you are. I’d like to share my favourite green smoothie recipe with you.

Easy to do and smoothilicious.

If you consider to do smoothies yourself it is recommended to have 50% plants and 50% fruits in it. That’s all. You can have more plants in it, but never more fruits. You add water as you wish to get the desired consistency. There are hundreds of different recipes of course, this is my favourite and I drink it a couple of times a week.

The reason why I like this one speficially is:

  • total care with vital substances
  • prevent diseases
  • a better, deeper sleep
  • a strong immune system
  • detoxing

You get a lot of minerals, trace elements, vitamins, proteins and of course tons of antioxidants.
A really powerful way to detox and purify your body.

I'll list all the ingredients incl. natural images taken in my greenfield and close-ups.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ apples
  • 1 banana
  • handful of grapes
  • indian cress
  • bishop's goutweed
  • lady’s mantle
  • stinging-nettle
  • clover
  • buckhorn
  • lion’s-tooth
  • 1 glass of water


Indian cress



Bishop's goutweed



Lady's mantle



Stinging-nettle + clover



Buckhorn



Lion's tooth


As you can see the plants / herbs shrivel very fast. I took these images right after I collected them.

Stinging-nettle, lion’s-tooth, buckhorn, bishop's goutweed and blackberry are considered to be the 'Top 5' wild herbs, unfortunately I don’t have any blackberries around, they simply don’t grow here. I already even investigated some backyards in my neighbourhood, no luck :)



Blenderize everything in your blender. You should have a good one to get the desired results. A thick and creamy smoothie. A high performance mixer should need about 30 – 45 seconds until ist creamy.

Note: The process of mixing creates heat. Every natural ingredient / food that gets warmer than your body temperature changes its chemical structure and the vital substances are damaged. Go full speed when mixing and keep it short.



I’ve collected all ingredients (except the fruits of course :) outside in the greenfield next to my house. Close-by there’s a wood as you can see in the picture. There’s a huge clearing where you can find tons of ingredients as well such as the stinging nettle in this case. I’ve numbered the spots where the herbs grow. Some of them like the buckhorn or the clover are pretty much everywhere.



I tend to collect whatever is available and of course looks fresh and mix everything up. As you can imagine there are limitless possibilities, just mix it up according to your taste.

Good to know:

Green chlorophyll and red haemoglobin are nearly identical molecules.

Chlorophyll is similar to haemoglobin up to one atom. Chlorophyll contains magnesium while haemoglobin contains iron. Chlorophyll is what makes the plants look green, heamoglobin makes the blood look red. Apart from that both are identical. This fact has a huge impact on our health. There’s no better substance or supplement for our blood as chlorophyll.

And guess what: A green smoothie has A LOT of chlorophyll! :)

Hope you enjoy every single drop.
It benefits your health.

Steem on!


Sort:  

interesting - I use campanula in salds and nettles . is this a sour taste with all the 'greens' - could swap out the water for coconut water ?

I think everyone has a different taste, I personally don't think it's sour. The banana ‘covers‘ a lot of taste. Coconut instead of water sounds definitely interesting, will try!:)

Looks good except for the stinging-nettle part :)

I can probably trick my wife into drinking this if I give it to her with a side of ketchup.

Yes, chlorophyll and haemoglobin are both the lifeblood of their respective organisms!
The very best thing for your health!

looks delicious

Great post @lobotony I have a green smoothie every day and have used most of those ingredients as well. Its a fantastic way to start the day and most people who do this are amazed with the results. If you can afford to though, spend the money and get a good blender. I have a Vitamix and it has been worth every cent. Enjoy!

Hi @rawnetics! I'm using a BIANCO and I'm also very confident so far. Thank you very much!

I friend of mine from the UK has a Bianco Blender and she swears by it. The cheap ones I have found don't last very long when your using them every day. Looking forward to your next article, thanks!

Looking forward to trying the smoothie and I love the pictures!

Thank you very much, hope you enjoy it!

I am sure it is tasty, but a plate of bacon has a slightly better taste plus that artery clogging goodness that my body craves.

Interesting... Is the Indian Cress also called Nasturtiums? Thank you :o)

Hi @niemanda! Yes, nasturtium is right!:) You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54