new: Gridcoin version 3.6.0.2 -> MANDATORY -> security fixes -> V8 stake engine: at block #1010000

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

>>>>>>    Gridcoin version 3.6.0.2 is available!    

 Keep in mind:      

  • before you upgrade, make a !backup


For Windows users specifically:                          

  • the new Windows installer 3.6.0.2 is soon downloadable from here,
  • or you can update from within your Windows client


All other users (Linux, Mac, ...):  

  • can find the source code here, OR: 
  • upgrade from their used location (e.g. package managers, once the responsible person for those package managers made the new version available)


Changes in this version are (more detailed here, changelog, commit and forum):

  • Fix incorrect PoS kernel V8 height trigger check. 544
  • Fix invalid superblock height formatting, #532
  • Fix several spelling mistakes, 533

Changes in 3.6.0.1 (mandatory, 4 days ago) were these.

Infos about the new PoS kernel V8 can be found here (in effect at block #1010000).


Please tell us when you experience problems!  


Sort:  

I would really like to upgrade my Gridcoin version, but I just don't know how. I run it on my Macbook Pro and I already downloaded the source code. However, I don't know how to proceed.
Is there a guide somewhere for command line idiots as I am myself? I just don't want to lose my humble 2k GRC because I tried to update myself without any guidance..

Im not sure about how to proceed MAC upgrades, in the wallet main menu under Help is there an Upgrade option?

If no-one here answers suggest checking on the official support thread

Its important to keep an offline backup of the wallet.dat and gridcoinresearch.conf files. You can find these in the gridcoin directory (I dont know where it is on MAC) in a sub-directory called walletbackups. Put them on a couple of USB sticks and then you will be OK. Be aware that you should keep regular wallet.dat updates, I do mine once per month.

Okay, I can just copy the files, right?

There is no Update option, only the debug window. I will check the official support thread, thank you!

Yeah just regular copies of the files is fine.

The upgrade went well but I didn't initiate it which is a first.
This obviously locked my wallet from staking again so I had to unlock the wallet this morning.

Is this a new feature?

auto upgrade can be set in gridcoinresearch.conf, it may only work for mandatory upgrades, but it's not perfect and doesn't always.
You cam also use http://wiki.gridcoin.us/Wallet_Auto-unlock_for_staking to unlock after a restart

I'm still learning how the wallet is working.
Thank you for your useful feedback scalextrix, I'll look into this.

Upgraded using the Windows GUI menu, no issues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61285.21
ETH 2922.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66