The Heirloom Seeds I Will Be Growing This Year!

in #growing5 years ago

There May Be Snow, But I Am Thinking Grow! 

()

As we are experiencing some of the coldest temperatures that I have ever been alive to witness I can't help but thinking about the next season. I will admit, winter is not my favorite season and actually its the opposite... definitely my least favorite. I love ice fishing and being outside in the winter but as I get older it seems like the lack of sunlight really makes me feel a lot more down than it did as a child. To help myself cope with the winter, I look forward to spring and thinking about what I am going to plant! 

My Tomatoes - My Favorite

()


I don't know exactly what it is but I just EFFIN love tomatoes! I always have and I always will. So it's really no wonder that since I love to eat them I naturally love to grow them now that I garden, right? Tomatoes can be challenging to grow but I think they are just so rewarding. They are also one of the vegetables that gets shipped here from mexico which just drives me insane and leaves me with a bland tasting tomato. This year I will be growing almost all heirloom vegetables. Meaning that if I save seeds from them they with be true to the genetics of their parent plants, as long as there was no cross pollination. I put an emphasis this year on larger types of tomatoes. I will probably grow 2 plants of each variety to see which ones I enjoy the most. I can not wait! 

My Other Vegetable Choices

()

Although I may not grow all of these this year, I will do what I can and test as many as possible. Last year I did a bit of experimenting and this year I am going to focus a lot more on producing the vegetables we consume the most. Which happens to be peppers, onions, tomatoes, and lettuce. Last year I really enjoyed growing green beans and peas so I will put a good effort in to growing as many as possible this year. I will dehydrate, or can, or vaccuum seal any of the extra veggies we have this year to get us through next winter. At least, that is the plan for now. 

What are you going to grow in your garden? Thanks for reading! Stay warm and grow on!



Sort:  

Congratulations @coin-garden! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for the great post.

So far I decided on tomatoes (a big beef tomato and a small grape sort) and italian kale. Radishes for the empty spots between plants + flowers, especially during the early growth. Beyond that I don't know - the pictures in the catalogues are all so beautiful and tempting...

Tomatoes are my favorite to grow! I love all the varieties. This year I focused much more on bigger fruiting varieties. Last year I was mostly focused on fast growing plants because I got moved into my house late June. I have also noticed that with cherry varieties I get tons of tomatoes but they dont add up to much weight, but they are great for everyday eating. I chose big varieties because I hope for big heavy fruits so I have to spend less time picking since I will have quite a few plants. I will preserve much of my extra veggies this year whether it be with freezing, canning, or dehydrating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60