Open Letter to Dolphins and Whales - Growing My Support

in #growth6 years ago

I have been on Steemit over a year now and for that time I have invested and dedicated hours and hours to content, to curation, to engagement and to networking.  I have focused my efforts on those less fortunate to me and I hope I have provided a lot of value across a broad spectrum.

source

One thing I have not done much of is looking up.  Looking at the accounts with more than me to try and find support.  I haven’t spent much time fostering relationships with those that could help me, instead I focused my time on those I could help.

Now is such an awesome time to be on Steemit.  The prices and low, new account registration is down, daily average postings is down.  Now is a great time to be spotted and to find support.  Now is time to be growing an awesome ‘core’ of steem users.

The reality is I have been extremely lucky and have had continuous support for a long time now from two awesome dudes by way of regular upvotes.  @nanzo-scoop and @fulltimegeek.  Guys you rock, you have kept my posts afloat and I really appreciate all the help you have given me.  Thank you so so much, I really owe you.

To some this might sound greedy, but I am looking for more regular support.  I am calling to the accounts above me, the accounts with larger SP to help out. Right now I am looking up.  I know most of my followers are small accounts, and although I apricate all the votes I get, most are worth less than the dust and that make it hard to grow.  But if I could get more, then I could really do more.

Asking for help like this is a little difficult, but if you don’t ask you won’t get.  I feel like I have my hand out begging right now.  Could I post more to earn more? Well yes, but why put out shit content when I could try get more people to support my good content.  I have stopped with a lot of the data posts because with the down turn and negative trend, they were not helping to motivate people. 

What have I done with the support so far? What will I do if I get more support?

Well to start with, I am now a small dolphin.  I don’t power down and I have a long term vision. In a perfect world, my plan is not to power down for the next 3 years, and if I can stretch that to 5 it would be better.  Obviously if something disastrous happens in my life I might have to dip in, but at the moment I’m good with a long term plan.

I have an unpurchased rep of 68, and in the UA rankings I am currently 109

I run and will continue to run and sponsort contents that focus on long term thinking and engagement.  The Indonesian league of Engagement and the Redfish Power Up League are popular weekly posts.  

I delegate and will continue to delegate SP free to individuals and projects.

I engage heavily on the platform, often running direct outreaches just offering help and assistance. (@nanzo-scoop I still laugh at the outreach I did when I sent the message to your alt account not know it was you)

I am partner in @steemcommunity witness server with @abh12345 and the @c-squared curation team.

What am I looking for? 

Well I am looking for you to consider voting regularly on my posts.  I post 3 to 5 times a week.  On the rare occasion I post more, but only if there is something worth saying.  Because I delegate to others for free, my vote worth is not that of a small dolphin.  I try never leave dust votes, but by doing this, my voting power often drops and I have to stop voting to power back up.  I want to build my account faster so these limitations do not get in the way of me helping others. Lol in a perfect world, I would like to double the size of my account by the new year.  Bit of a mountain, but with the right support, it would actually be possible.  If I double my size I can double the support I give.

So if you would like to help, then please consider adding me as a regular to your voting

Thank you for reading

Paula


Sort:  

Fair enough, I have seen your name a lot but no clue what you are posting about. Let me start by following you. I just undelegated 5K stepping away from the bid bots. I plan on moving that to UA, I believe a lot in that. You have a super high UA so now I am actually curious about your activities :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

That's what I like to hear!

@paulag has follows from a couple of rather 'influential' accounts - Ned and dtube, and me of course 😂

Oh and being a witness helps too.

Hi, we have not spoken before. Thanks for visiting my blog. Bidbots have been a profitable venture for investors, but im glad to hear ur rethinking your options. UA is a great idea, so are curation initatives like @c-squared because is so inclusive. You have plenty to chose from thats for sure.

Thank you for the follow, it all helps 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @paulag! I don't think we've had much interaction but just wanted to reach out and wish you all the best in your endeavour. What i have seen of you and your work here is really positive and professional. I hope you have a fantastic day! With plenty of wonderful surprises added in for good measure 💚💙💛💜💖

Aweee how sweet and kind of you. Thank tou so much for stoping by to show ur support

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi friends, I have also been steemit for more than a year but I am less fortunate to have as little support as I can, and to get more power is also very hard for me because the exchange rate is very different, you are very lucky to invest in steemit, congratulations .

you are very lucky to invest in steemit

Minor correction, one invests in STEEM not steemit. Also, SteemPeak is infinitely superior to steemit and should be our primary interface to the steem blockchain.

Why is steempeak so much better?
And why not use busy.org?

Thank you @fulltimegeek for stopping by, for the resteem and for all the support. I don't have the words really needed to express my gratitude.

@nazarwills one of the cool things about steempeak is that there are no charges to use it, unlike many of the other Dapps

Happy to help lift up other leaders that want the best for Steem :)

Not all investments are monetary. I expect that most folks here are investing time and attention in Steemit or another UI and all of us are receiving dividends other than emuneration.

You are right, my investment has been my time. Hours and hours like so many others

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed! @steempeak is a great addition to the ecosystem... it actually takes the Steemit social content experience and makes it "current" rather than "2003 message board!"

=^..^=

steem is difficult while the prices are so low. Everyone is finding it hard. That's why it was particularly hard to write this post, because I know i am not he only one and i know I am rather lucky already


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
Loading...

Unpurchased rep of 68 — pretty remarkable achievement I'd say.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought exactly the same thing @libert ... and @paulag coz I'm new I'm not sure why rep "means nothing anymore" but I like to think of it being somewhat like the concept of integrity (doing the right thing even when no-ones watching)

Or maybe think of it like false-nails and hair extensions. Some people just want the long nails/hair and are happy to pay for a quick solution while other people place more value being able to achieve the long nails/hair through their own time and effort.
Whether it means anything or not, you have yourself a very valuable asset indeed. (and I'm inspired to follow your lead)

Yep, being a proud non bid bot user means I have had to work for my rep, pity it means nothing anymore :-)

It was really brave of you to write this letter. I know what you mean by your voting power drops, i have mine depleted! I find it really hard not to spread the upvote love to every post I seem to like and commented. Is upvoting too much a bad thing??

Its been hard for me at my very low steem power, how much more for you when you have an army to support!

For sure, I know there is kindness lurking here. I believe SOMEONE (WHALES & ORCAS PARTICULARLY) SOMEHWERE CARES!

Posted using Partiko Android

Brave and risky. I know there are many others that are working hard on this platform and many that deserve it more than me

Posted using Partiko Android

We all want it, thats for sure.. but looking on a larger scale, your impact is much stronger and visible. I believe you could do more, more than anyone of us.

Sometimes bravery gets paid for being upfront.. who knows.

Posted using Partiko Android

Like

Hey @paulag even though I have followed you for a while I missed this in my feed and in fact saw this post because @simplymike curated it through C² :) You do a lot of good for the blockchain both in terms of data analysis and through your engagement / powerup outreach and other community activities. I hope some larger accounts do add you to their regular votes, you deserve it :) Much love - Carl

I think you are also one of those accounts that gets looked over for your efforts. Its the people doing the work that you are doing that is keeping content creators here on steemit. I hope that someone also decides to add you to their regular votes

I hope your call-out gets answered @paulag! I think you totally deserve it :)

thank you very much @lynncoyle1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89