You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TODAY IS NATIONAL BOOK LOVERS DAY!

I used to call in sick just so I can finish the book I was reading. I didn't let work stop me from a good book. I haven't read an e-book in my life and I don't plan to. Just like you, I prefer the one where I can dog-ear a page or something I can turn every page physically as that's part of what reading a good book is. Old fashioned? I guess I am.

Great post! Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

I don't think I ever called in sick to finish a book, however, I may have called in sick because I was up all night reading.

I'm not a fast reader so normally even if I stay up the whole night reading a book I don't get to finish it. So I call in sick so I can finish it : )

Reading speed isn't important as long as you enjoy what you read. I took a speed reading class in college, to prepare for the amount of reading required in law school.

Reading slow doesn't bother me. In fact it reminds me of eating, you know. When you read slow, it's like eating slowly, taking the time to savor each little flavor or spice in the food and enjoy how they mesh together to make the dish. Also like chewing your food slowly too.

That's why for a really good book like Tom Clancy's Hunt for Red October or Robert Ludlum's Bourne Identity, it takes me two days and two nights almost non-stop to read but I enjoy every minute of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70