The Trauma I’m Currently Going Through: Learning About What Circumcision is and What I’m Missing...

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I recently watched a documentary about a very (literally) scarring topic: Infantile Circumcision in the United States.

You can watch the trailer here:

This is a very traumatizing subject to me, now that I’m learning the real details. So I might keep this brief.

Circumcision is essentially the brutal removal of healthy sexual and protective tissue from the male penis. It is linked to these mental conditions later in life : http://www.cirp.org/library/psych/
The process is extremely barbaric and isn’t one clean step like everybody hunks. Step one is ripping back the foreskin of the penis, because the foreskin is fused to the tip of the penis until puberty. Once the (psychopathic) Doctor has done that, they then have to clamp down and crush that sensitive tissue that has hundreds of thousands of nerve endings. They then cut the foreskin off with tools from the medieval times. This is where some people have their whole penis cut off and get raised as a girl. Of course the baby is screaming in terror and confusion this whole time. Then, they have to delicately remove the clamp from the penis. This is where the tip of some people’s penises are actually ripped off because the penis skin is in 2 pieces during this part.

This whole procedure is disgusting and I’ve been having disturbing PTSD-level flashbacks to me being sexually attacked by sharp tools as a baby. I have been a wreck, inside, from this. When I s we met my penis and see an irritable car instead of healthy extra penis tissue that is supposed to protect and lubricate me, it’s disturbing to no end... that this is how I was welcomed into this world.

I’m trying to move on, despite learning of what I’m missing... I highly recommend watching that documentary because there is no benefit to circumcision, or removal of any healthy body tissue form that matter. Took me a long time to work up the courage to even bring this up...

Sort:  

Well brother, this subject has been in discussions for many years and I applaud you for taking your position on this because in life everyone has to take positions on lots of things.

I could actually care less on this subject either way myself. I have to say I am not as educated as one should be to comment here but, I agree that the process is not needed to get through life. I don’t have any children myself but, if I ever did I personally would probably circumcise my son. Now that’s easy for me to say because I don’t even have to think of making a decision like that. I am circumcised and all the males in my family are as well. I don’t remember anything about it. As a matter of fact I don’t think I can remember anything in my life at all with any great detail before the age of 2-4 years old. I do remember a few things starting at 5 years old. The skin and undeveloped nerve endings on a new born seem less painful for a thing like this to me than a young kid.
I am personally glad I am circumcised because it stopped boys In the showers during junior high gym class from making fun of me. Girls snickering about me....you know stuff like that. Adolescents are rough on each other ya know.

I think sex, it would seem the sensitivity would be greater with the skin still there but I don’t know how to answer that. It seems to be a little healthy to have it removed because it’s less bacteria that can hide on the body.

In the end, I just don’t have a stance on this either way man. There are way to many more important things to worry about in a child’s life than something like this to me.

Do what you feel is right man because it really doesn’t matter in the Big picture of life. I am not doubting that you had a traumatic experience as a baby that you somehow can actually remember, however you are the only person I know or have heard about that can remember or has been affected by this. I am sure there are many more just like you and the way you feel so speaking about this is great.

Good post man!

Thanks so much for being able to share your opinion while still recognizing what I’ve been going through. It’s been very easy for people to tell me “that’s not possible” but in the end it’s a procedure done while you’re awake and fully conscious and most of our most vivid memories are the most traumatic ones (i.e. “what you were doing on 9/11”, etc.)

Hoping we can kick it sometime soon man...

It takes some big balls to discuss this sensitive issue and I appreciate it, because I was traumatised growing up for not having being circumcised. The stigma of being dirty and rural made me self conscious and feel unattractive..

Thanks for reaching out bud... That’s the sad thing, they make men feel weird for being a 100% natural man... I wish I could get the 100,000+ nerves back... There’s this sick idea that the human body has to be modified before perfection can be reached and it’s such a lie...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah. It's a very sensitive topic and I can only imagine what it means for you now that you're becoming a father. I watched an interesting video commentary about the cruelty of child birth. Apparently the former Egyptians used to give birth standing up leveraging gravity's natural energy and the placenta would stay on the child for hours. The birth happened in a dark room as infants have been growing in the surroundings of their mother's womb. The father assisted in the birth as tge infant was already familiar with his tone and sense of presence. Just thought I'd throw it out there..

I believe it man, we are going to have a home-birth with her in the water and it’s actually great for the woman to be able to move around like you say, and let them naturally slip out. We’re also going to let the umbilical cord stay intact like you mentioned for an extended period of time because it lets them get more oxygen through the mothers blood while the baby gets used to breathing for oxygen. Tons of things that make you think “WTF why would anybody give birth in hospitals??” So it makes me feel great knowing we are showing the world that birthing is a natural process and you don’t need any intervention like the system will want to make you believe is necessary.

You guys are on another level!!! I always knew it the 1st time I saw you on YouTube! I'm so inspired!!!😎

Hi @amvanaken!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.203 which ranks you at #2695 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #368.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95