You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: Why I'm looking for a magical shoe store like the one from my childhood

in #health6 years ago

Department stores and the internet have made real shoe stores go away.

For me, that is a shame. Here you can still get custom made shoes and particularly boots. I have a guy in Spokane, Wa that made me 3 pairs that lasted more than 30 years. I went buy their place and it is still going strong but 'Nick' isn't there. It's his GRANDKIDS that you deal with first...

Is there anything like that there? 660 Euros sounds like a LOT. The last pair I got from Nick was less than $400.

Sort:  

Yes - the same company that 'adapts' my shoes can also make them 'full orthopedic' for me - or, from scratch. It's a decision I might make if I keep failing at finding shoes that can be adapted. The reason why my doctor advised me to postpone that direction and gave me a referral for 'semi-adapted' is these 'fully orthopedic' shoes are only covered 1 pair every 15 months instead of now 2 pairs every twelve months. And she wanted me to have more than one pair of shoes ;-)

Now, having 1 pair that is made for me every 15 months might be more convenient than owning 2 pairs every 12 months that are not 'perfectly made for me' so yeah - thinking, thinking, thinking.

Now, I know it's already a luxury to have coverage for this kind of stuff and many people in other countries might buy this stuff out of their own pocket anyway. But since we tend to reason from 'coverage' perspective this became the 'normal'. So I can't go to 'just' any shoe maker, but it has to be a certified medical shoe maker.

I'm glad Nick's store still exists by the way - it's a true craft to be able to make shoes and all these crafts disappear all over the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84